PDA

View Full Version : pocket knife

zumzum5150
2003.11.25, 06:57 PM
hi

I am new to the hobbie and would like to pick up the Pro-z pocket knife. it's about time, I change the blue skeletion chassis to carbon . Has anyone gotten a chance to race this new chassis and will it make a difference in the handling department? One of my biggest concerns is durability, can this chassis take a beating and keep going like the stock ones. Your opionions would be most appreciated.

isk8blind
2003.11.25, 07:46 PM
www.pro-z.com

Digisane
2003.11.27, 07:31 AM
Originally posted by zumzum5150
hi
One of my biggest concerns is durability, can this chassis take a beating and keep going like the stock ones. Your opionions would be most appreciated.

The chassis itself can take a beating, but the solder connections on the board itself couldn't. If you do get the Pro-Z i'd suggest you change every single wire to more durable ones from the servo to the board. Even then, you'd probably have to resolder every now and then, especially the battery pack. It's fun doing it now and then, but if something breaks in the middle of a competition..... uh... make sure you got a spare car..

Basically, the Pro-Z is like a 'works' racing car. That means it's built from the ground up as a racing car, and meant to be stripped down and rebuilt again after every few races. Reliability therefore would not be as good as the 'stock' ones, but it definitely improves everything else from stock.

zumzum5150
2003.11.27, 06:26 PM
Digisane,

Thanks for replying back. Well, I guss I'm just gonna have to work on my soldering skills when I do pick one up. Is $50 a fair price for version 4 (CF) since version 5 is already available? I've had the version 4 on hold at the local RC store since i posted the thread. Should I go with the 4 or the 5? Sweet paint job on the NSX, rims were a nice touch. I just purchased the 2002 Mugen NSX and it's awesome, especially with the F-40 rims.