PDA

View Full Version : Race Motors


pHREDD
2004.10.15, 06:47 PM
Alright guys.....I just tested my new iw x-speed pro and I have to admit (dont rub it in NInja :D ) it is the fastest motor I own. I tested it against the PN S04 and the NMLV.2 motors. The XSP (x-speed pro) doesnt have mounting holes like the PN or the NML a real down fall for me but the top speed makes up for it.

My car setup
MR02
Ball diff
4x2 fet stack 4562
12 pinion
4 cells IC3

On the speed checker the XSP hit 63 km/h
the NMLV.2 hit 55 km/h
the PN S04 hit 53 km/h


I know the speed checker isnt 100% but its good enough to compair motors.

I dont know about the longevity of the XSP...only time will tell

I can say the NMLV.2 and the PN S04 has held up very good.

Ninja
2004.10.15, 06:55 PM
i love it :D how is the torque with the 12 tooth pinion? i cant wait to see one on lithiums :eek:

pHREDD
2004.10.15, 07:05 PM
The torque is just fine.....

I like this new sub-forum looks like we got the picture function now......

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v85/pHREDD/PICT3464.jpg

Ninja
2004.10.15, 07:07 PM
SWEEET! but with my 9 tooth i hit equal speeds to your 12 tooth SO4 :D i love this $12 motor :D

pHREDD
2004.10.15, 07:11 PM
I love the $12 motor too....I got 2 of them.......Best bang for the buck

pHREDD
2004.10.15, 07:12 PM
I will change out the wimpy motor wires though....

Ninja
2004.10.15, 07:13 PM
thats exactly what i was thinking. and EVERYBODY can afford one :D unlike the NML motors, which i will probably never have :(

pHREDD
2004.10.15, 07:15 PM
Never say never.....I wounde how this motor would do in a PN bb can?

Ninja
2004.10.15, 07:18 PM
Never say never.....I wounde how this motor would do in a PN bb can?
I was thinking of moving the complete setup into a 3 Racing BB can so that i could use modified motor mounts to get the exact gear mesh on the pinions, but i was affraid that in a closed up can it may overheat at those high rpm's

pHREDD
2004.10.15, 07:48 PM
I forgot to add the data for the AtomicMods Nuke 130SM super Modified motor.

Same specks as the first post...

AtomicMods Nuke 130SM 44 km/h

ExtraPickles
2004.10.15, 07:53 PM
Ahhhhhh that gives me hope. I got a McLaren today with 2x3 stack and put an SO3 in it with a 9 tooth and was way less than impressed with that motor. An X-speed in a BB can w/ neo magnets leaves it in the dust. I have one of those Iwaver Pro motors here somewhere... must find...

-pickles

ExtraPickles
2004.10.16, 07:38 AM
Swapped them out and the Iwaver Pro is about the same as the SO3 for me, both with 9 tooth pinion and 2X3 stack of 4xxx FETs. This is "seat of the pants" feel mind you, I don't have a speed checker yet.

I suppose my expectations were too high, I thought these motors would be night and day faster than a Kyosho X-Speed and was worried about being too much for a Mini-96 track. No problem at all.

So, what would be a good motor to try next for a track with 15-20 foot long straight that is in the $20-$30 range? I want to blink and have the car be at the end of the straight ;)

-pickles

pHREDD
2004.10.16, 09:13 AM
pickles, do yu have the iw xspeed or iw xspeed pro?

ExtraPickles
2004.10.16, 10:12 AM
Both but it is the Pro that I tried...

-pickles

Shaun
2004.10.16, 04:57 PM
I love the $12 motor too....I got 2 of them.......Best bang for the buck

Sounds Great! Where did you get them from?

Thanks

Also, what do you think is the hottest motor you can
run with the GPM Twin-Turbo?

Ninja
2004.10.16, 05:42 PM
the motors come from www.toy east.com with no space, and we dont know much about the turbos, we do ours internally

Shaun
2004.10.16, 07:56 PM
Thanks for the info Ninja.

Shaun
2004.10.16, 08:29 PM
WOW!!

I looked at the info on the X-speed Pro. It seems too good to be true!

Excellent price and insane performance.

Has anyone tried on of the Super X-speed motors? ONLY $5.50
And what's with the white and black packing?

pHREDD
2004.10.16, 09:03 PM
I havent tried on eof those yet...Next order I wil pick one up. I stil run a few cars stock

Shaun
2004.10.17, 08:50 AM
I've read that most of you use internal FET's.

Where did you all get your FET's from?
Do you have any pics or diagrams showing how they are installed?

I want to put internal FET's on my MR-01 and get rid of my external
turbo.

Thanks

Ninja
2004.10.17, 11:02 AM
we get them from the shop here, they are $2.50 each + shipping. for $20 you can get 8 FETs, this is enough to do a 4x2 stack and will handle any motor you throw at it. pHREDD has pics

pHREDD
2004.10.17, 11:14 AM
Here is a shot of My MR01 4x2 stack. THe chassie requires no modification.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v85/pHREDD/PICT3048.jpg

Ninja
2004.10.17, 11:36 AM
I should be getting my SO4 back tomorrow. and sometime this week alot of other stuff. i just hope my stuff from toy east gets here by wednesday so i can get Wells' car back in one piece :D and show off my new body

pHREDD
2004.10.17, 12:08 PM
One of my iw x-speed pro motors has stopped working :o I have emailed Steve @ ******* o see if I can get an exchange.....I hope that motor was just a dud and not all of these motors are like that one. It ran fine at first.

Wolf
2004.10.17, 03:04 PM
I have XSpeed Pro in my stock. However I'm not sure if it is safe to run it with bone stock Kyosho MR01. I'll try 7-9 pinions in range

Any opinions?

pHREDD
2004.10.17, 03:08 PM
its a hot motor...it could fry your fets...I wouldnt run it without a fet upgrade

Wolf
2004.10.17, 03:33 PM
Thanks pHREDD.
I'm sure that they are hot :)
However although all measurings says that this motor fries a stock fet easily, still no report of a fried FET.
I've checked almost all threads and other sites.
I've even saw on a thread that a guy checks this motor with a stock IWaver, 14T pinion, hits 50+ km/h and over 3A amps without frying his FET.
I'm a kind of confused..

L-BURN-U
2004.10.17, 03:35 PM
the newer iwavers have stronger fets in them, they are the newer 6 Amp FET's, dont try it with a stock Kyosho Z

Wolf
2004.10.17, 04:03 PM
Now things getting more clear. Thanks for this info L-BURN-U

Shaun
2004.10.17, 05:32 PM
Thanks for the info guys.

Those FET's will work on a MR-02 also?

I might get enough FET's to do 2 cars.

pHREDD
2004.10.17, 05:35 PM
The fets the shop here sells works on all the mini-zs

Shaun
2004.10.17, 05:38 PM
Cool! Sounds good. Do they come with a diagram on how to install
them on the board?

Thanks pHREDD

pHREDD
2004.10.17, 06:04 PM
NO diagram....Hold the pcb with the battery holes pointing up.....the fets should be where you can read the writing ...Look at the old fets....and turn the new the same way

ExtraPickles
2004.10.17, 07:05 PM
Just a quickie to retract my earlier opinions about the Iwaver Pro and SO3. The poor performance I was experiencing was not the fault of the motors... it was the FET stack in the car. The Iwaver Pro has to be one of the best bangs for the buck going, it flat out smokes...

-pickles

longshot
2004.10.17, 09:22 PM
just a quick question on fets now that that's exactly what this thread has turned into....Can you just stack new fets on top of old ones, or do you scrap the old fets and put in only new ones?

Ninja
2004.10.17, 09:39 PM
i have seen it done both ways but it is better to scrap the old ones first

Shaun
2004.10.18, 12:05 PM
i have seen it done both ways but it is better to scrap the old ones first

So 2 stacks of 4 FET's will handle just about any motor?

Shaun
2004.10.18, 01:37 PM
I have a GPM motor pod for my MR-01 and it uses only motors
with screw holes.

What motors do you guys know of that have holes pre-drilled?
I have been using the same GPM high torque motor for a while.

pHREDD
2004.10.18, 02:02 PM
All the PN racing motors have the holes and so does the NML motors. THe x-speed and x-speed pro do not.

Shaun
2004.10.18, 04:16 PM
All the PN racing motors have the holes and so does the NML motors. THe x-speed and x-speed pro do not.

Thank you yet again pHREDD! :)

BTW I was at the local HOBBYTOWN USA today.

The first thing I saw when I got to the RC department was a RCP track
set up on the floor. I think it was the WIDE-L. They said they have a lot
more track parts in back. They just need to make more room to set it
all up. Maybe I'll soon have a nice set-up to race at locally?

I'll check back at the shop soon and see what's going on.
Sorry to get off topic.

Shaun

pHREDD
2004.10.18, 04:30 PM
THats cool...I hope you get a place to race....remember your always welcome to come race with us :D

Shaun
2004.10.18, 04:58 PM
THats cool...I hope you get a place to race....remember your always welcome to come race with us :D

I know, but it's kinda hard to get there at 6PM to race.
I rarely leave work before 5PM. Most of the time it's 7PM.
Then I would have to drive over a hour to get there.

I still plan on coming up some time. I hope. :)

I just ordered my FET's from the shop. Can't wait!

ChattavegasSE
2004.10.20, 10:27 AM
Must...buy...faster motors! :eek:

arch2b
2004.10.20, 10:35 AM
i have some of the tamiya motors coming and i need to buy som squat and atomic ball bearing motor cans then i will try some cobo's that have been reported to work very well. should be fun!

pHREDD
2004.10.22, 12:40 PM
Well last night at the races I had a good chance to evaluate the IW x-speed pro on the courts. Up until this point I had only tested it on the speed checker. I was dissapointed at the lack of take off power the IW XSP had. I tried a 12 pinion gear and it was very very slow on take off. I switched back to the 9 pinion and it helped the take off power some but its nothing like the torque of the NMLV.2 or the S02 motors. This motor really lacks in torque but has a super top end. Due to the lack in torque I am going to swtich back to either my S04 or my NMLV.2 for the court track.

The iw x-speed pro could be a super motor if it had more torque and the motor can was pre drilled.

Pros: Super top end, good price

Cons: low torque, motor can not pre-drilled


I would still recomend this getting the IW x-speed pro just because of the price.

Shaun
2004.10.22, 06:45 PM
Nice review of the x-speed pro.

I got my FET's fom Mini-ZRacer.com today.
Very good service from the shop. Highly reccomended!

Anyway, anyone have any tips or suggestions reguarding
the installation of FET's?

pHREDD posted a pic that is helpful.

Did you bend the legs of the FET's straight to make them
long enough to connect with each other? Or did you use
some other material?

pHREDD
2004.10.22, 09:05 PM
first i put a tiny drop of ca glue on top of a fet. then i stack one on top of it let it dry a sec then a drop of glue then stack. After there all glued together I bend all the legs down with a hobby knife. I use a aligator clip on a stand to hold the fet while i solder the legs together. I get the iron hot, touch the solder to the iron then touch the iron to the fet. I start at the bottom of the leg drag the solder over the legs in a single motion. I have found this method works best for me.

that was the easy part. the hard part is removing them without damage to the PCB.




Good luck :D

ChattavegasSE
2004.10.23, 12:46 PM
My PN S04 came in the other day. Now I'm just waiting for the GPM V2. I am going to try them out in the X Mod first; since it has AWD; w/6 cells. We'll see what happens...

ChattavegasSE
2004.10.23, 01:31 PM
Well, turbo came in today, too. Now I'm ready to start fryin my XMod. :D

pHREDD
2004.10.23, 01:44 PM
good luck.....

L-BURN-U
2004.10.25, 11:14 AM
well i got my SO4 back today, im about to put it in the car and test it out. will find out now whether it was the motor or if i have some bad FET's in my car

pHREDD
2004.10.25, 12:03 PM
with the XSP running fine i wouldnt think its the Fets....BUt you never know :rolleyes:

Ninja
2004.10.25, 12:21 PM
it was the motor, this one is awesome, i am currently runnin it through the break-in period. which i now found an easier way to do so. i got a collet kit for my cordless dremmel, now i have one that fits the shaft of the 130 size motors, i just mount the shaft into the dremmel, tape the motor case to the dremmel using a small piece of electrical tape, turn it on and let it go to work, at 10,000 RPM :D

pHREDD
2004.10.25, 12:35 PM
sounds like it will be wore out instead of broke in :rolleyes:

JTrusley
2004.10.25, 12:37 PM
it was the motor, this one is awesome, i am currently runnin it through the break-in period. which i now found an easier way to do so. i got a collet kit for my cordless dremmel, now i have one that fits the shaft of the 130 size motors, i just mount the shaft into the dremmel, tape the motor case to the dremmel using a small piece of electrical tape, turn it on and let it go to work, at 10,000 RPM :D

have you done anything to your OL Ninja

Ninja
2004.10.25, 12:37 PM
nope, im keeping an eye on the com and brushes through the hole in the bottom, plus you gotta figure these motors turn at over 30,000 RPM when run at top speed

Ninja
2004.10.25, 01:44 PM
i am thinking about ordering one of those Iwaver X-Speed motors just to get that sweet looking can with the "X" cut out the top :D :rolleyes: and no i havent done anything to my overland yet, though i have been tempted to put my 01 PCB in it to see what the SO4 will do in it :D

pHREDD
2004.10.25, 02:23 PM
Too bad the sweet looking can doesnt have pre drilled holes for the PN motor pods

Ninja
2004.10.25, 02:25 PM
yeah i know, and it doesnt have bearings either, and i messed up one of my bearings in one of my cans last night :(

pHREDD
2004.11.16, 09:15 PM
I built and tested the Plasma dash motor and its by far the fastest motor I have tested yet. I hit 57 km/h with 4 cells and a 12 tooth pinion. This babey has pleany of torque with the neo mags installed. the atomic bb can is a nice housing it all rests in and for the price...its the best I have tried. Its also a fun project to build and the cost was around $26


Thanks to ph2t for the Fantastic Motor Mod.

Shaun
2004.11.18, 03:36 PM
Was it this motor for $9.99?

Does it have bearings?

arch2b
2004.12.02, 05:16 PM
ok, thanks to bithed i have 2 of each;
plasma dash
torque tuned
ultra dash

i also have 2 of:
squat bb cans with brushes

which motors and parts make great racing motor combination?

i will be getting 2 atomic bb cans with brushes shortly as well.

pHREDD
2004.12.02, 09:11 PM
Shaun, the aomic bb can does have bearings.

Arch, if you want the best top end, use the plasma dash armature and the ferrite mags with the atomic bb can. it you want a little more torque us the neo mags instead of the ferrites.