PDA

View Full Version : throttle adjustment on the car?


Zephyr von Bobo
2006.01.02, 11:03 AM
can I adjust the nuetral throttle setting on the car itself? I have to trim the controller to +7 to get the car to stand still (same results with swapped controller).

With the throttle trim set at +7 I believe the car is having a difficult time braking; repeated attempts to put the car into reverse will only cause the brakes to engage even if the car is at a stand still. Also, I don't believe full throttle can be attained either as the batteries seem to die much quicker in this car.

Thanks for any help.

EnTg888
2006.01.02, 01:00 PM
That is...odd, to say the least. My car was good right out of the box (throttle trim +0). From what i know, there doesn't seem to be a way to do that, except maybe look for a small screw-looking thing (on-board pot) and tweak that. I'm unsure if the iwaver pcb's have one.

Zephyr von Bobo
2006.01.02, 02:00 PM
That is...odd, to say the least. My car was good right out of the box (throttle trim +0). From what i know, there doesn't seem to be a way to do that, except maybe look for a small screw-looking thing (on-board pot) and tweak that. I'm unsure if the iwaver pcb's have one.

Yup, my friends and I have opened a total of 4 IW02s, and this is the first one that has not been neutral at +0. I found the POT for the steering on top of the board, however I couldn't find one for the throttle. I didn't want to risk taking the board off to check the underside in case I break a wire from the board and then I would have to explain that when we exchange the car.

Would adjusting the end points help with the inconsistent braking and full throttle?

Draconious
2006.01.02, 03:02 PM
With the transmitter that came with the car?

If so, try using a diff TX see if it still does it... find out if it realy is the car and not the TX..

Zephyr von Bobo
2006.01.02, 05:07 PM
With the transmitter that came with the car?

If so, try using a diff TX see if it still does it... find out if it realy is the car and not the TX..

Yup, tried swapping with a working transmitter and got the same results.

Taazz
2006.01.02, 08:39 PM
I guess I have never worried about exactly where the throttle trim sets and my cars Mini Z and newest Iwaver run just fine for me. Mind you I don't use brakes when I drive. I roll it in and roll it out, but my reverse works just fine no matter where the trim is set.

I did notice that even with my Iwaver trim set at +6 or 7 when I turn on the ABS brakes on the transmitter they engage by simply letting the trigger return to center. I do not have to push forward to get ABS brakes. If I push forward it goes directly to reverse.

GT40Z
2006.04.30, 08:46 AM
Mine does the same no matter where I set the ABS setting. The manual says push forward on the throttle to brake, but mine just goes into reverse, like yours.

lilskipro587
2006.05.02, 09:07 PM
im not sure if you guys no this but.................... i had the same trouble! but i figured it out!!! See when you turn on ABS you go throught the menu it says abs or off. Well if you look in the corner it says ch.1(channel 1) well you have to change it too ch.2(channel 2) Hit the CH button and switch it to CH 2. If its not that then it must be that the firelap chassis doesnt support the ABS feature

neweraz84
2006.05.11, 05:07 PM
I had problems with the adjustments on mine also, ireturned and got another chassis, i guess that's a common problem

machine
2006.05.11, 07:07 PM
See when you turn on ABS you go throught the menu it says abs or off. Well if you look in the corner it says ch.1(channel 1) well you have to change it too ch.2(channel 2)... Thats prety much the fix.

I see this question allot, the Iwaver/Firelap TX manual isn't all that good.