PDA

View Full Version : Iwaver for Newb

tzero
2006.01.27, 05:47 PM
Im new to R/C and I was thinking about getting somthing small and I was wondering if the Iwaver 02 or 04 would be good for my first 1/28 and will it last along time I dont want to buy new parts.Or should I try to go for a Kyosho Mini-z.

machine
2006.01.27, 05:55 PM
whatever you can afford is perfect. I haven't heard to many happy stories about the Iwaver 02 but the Iwaver 04 is a decent running truck. You should also look at the Firelap cars. Similair to the Mini-z 02.

Goodluck in your choice

EnTg888
2006.01.27, 06:46 PM
Yeah, for a first R/C go with Kyosho, less hassle, better out of the box. The Iwaver 02 will need a LOT of tweaking to run well. Of course, Kyosho is a heck of a lot more expensive, so yeah. If you're willing to tweak/don't get discouraged easily, go with the cheaper iwavers. If you want a better quality car out of the box, go with kyosho.

SuperFly
2006.01.27, 07:24 PM
While it's more expensive, a Kysosho MR02 will run great out of the box and you will have fun. The iWaver and Firelaps are good deals, but often have problems from the start that require some knowledge and experience to fix. I always feel slightly disappointed with any new iWaver/firelap stuff, because it seems like there's no reason for it to be inferior, but the subtle differences in the electronics, the plastic, the fit and finish all add up.

tzero
2006.01.27, 07:49 PM
Well I can only spend $100 and my LHS has the Mini-Z's but they are $150 so I was thinking that the Iwaver/Firelap would be good but if its gonna break maby I will just have to save up.

SuperFly
2006.01.27, 08:27 PM
Well I can only spend $100 and my LHS has the Mini-Z's but they are $150 so I was thinking that the Iwaver/Firelap would be good but if its gonna break maby I will just have to save up.