PDA

View Full Version : my AWD mini-z

carcraze1004
2006.04.01, 10:11 PM
Hey people,
I'm new to mini-z but not to racing.I have a AWD mini-z that I've had since Dec.1st.I was impressed with it right out of the box.Since then,I've done quite a bit of changes.Within the last 2 months,I started changing things.The first thing I did,was put bearings in to free up the drive train.Nice and smooth.Here's a list of what I did so far.
1.upgrade to bearings.
2.using a speedy05 motor.(alot of torque)
3.Aluminum 0degree knuckles
4.0degree tie-rod
5.odegree rear toe bar
6.upgraded the chassis to the stronger blue/gray chassis
7.Aluminum topcad front bracket
8.Aluminum rear gearbox w/graphite plate.
9.rear topcad bracket.
10.carbon fiber driveshaft.
11.Aluminum swingshafts.
12.14 pcs chrome offset wheels.narrow in front wides in rear.
13.aluminum motor mount & batt.mount w/heatsink.
14.Topcad ball diffs.Kept breaking spider gears in old diffs.
Even though I added a little wieght,it still does lap times in the mid 10's.I average about 25 to 30 laps in a 5 minute run depending how our track is set up.I did a 6 minute run and did 35 laps.Had lap times below 10 seconds.I'm still using the Skyline body.This car is fun to drive and handles great.

hobbycar
2006.04.02, 08:46 AM
Welcome carcraze1004 to Mini-Zs.

What kind of track do you run on? RCP or something else (other foam mats, Tar Paper, painted wood, rubber mats, etc.). Also curious what tires you are running.

I just picked up an AWD and am planning my upgrade path.

Have you checked out the How Fast Are You - Time Trials and Online Point Series (http://www.saltlakemini-z.com/howfastareyou/howfastareyou.html)? It's alot of fun and you get to compare your times to people around the world.

carcraze1004
2006.04.02, 01:36 PM
Welcome carcraze1004 to Mini-Zs.

What kind of track do you run on? RCP or something else (other foam mats, Tar Paper, painted wood, rubber mats, etc.). Also curious what tires you are running.