PDA

View Full Version : Stacked fet's?

JamesJozef
2006.05.19, 10:29 PM
Since I'm a bit of a noob to mini z's,i was wondering if I'd need to go with stacked fet's to run this http://cgi.*******a/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250000037097&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1 motor in an MR-01. If I need to go with stacked fet's, is their a tutorial for it for the MR-01? Wich fet's would I need if I were to stack them?

Draconious
2006.05.19, 10:39 PM
if you have to ask such questions, you will need to find some one to do it for you...

JamesJozef
2006.05.20, 10:08 AM
Har Har. Why couldn't you have just told me, instead of just dismissing me as inferior (which I most likely am), and actually try and answer my question?

JamesJozef
2006.05.20, 12:10 PM
Sorry to double post, but are there any tutorials out there for stacking the fet's on an MR-01?

Fish
2006.05.20, 02:22 PM
byebye has a video here: http://www.minizracer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19645

That should help you figure out what you're up against.

JamesJozef
2006.05.20, 03:23 PM
Thanks. That's gonna help alot.

*Edit* Argh! I can't get them to play. Can you put them on google video? Or maybe putfile? That would be very greatly appreciated.

ph2t
2006.05.20, 07:14 PM
JamesJozef, help yourself, don't be lazy and stand on the shoulders of others...

Just download the latest windows media player to play those WMV files from www.microsoft.com

Also the mosfets you want are either Si4562 or IRF3717, they re both the same interms of performance. You will need to buy them from somewhere, several mini-z stores sell them. I get mine from http://shop.ausmicro.net

There's a simple rule of thumb to be used in determining if a motor requires a fet stack and that's if the motor is less than 45turns then you'll need at least a 2x2 stack, if the motor is below 30 turns, then you're better of with a 3x2 stack. That's about it and don't stack any higher than a 3x2 since your throttle response will get choppy.