PDA

View Full Version : Display Chassis for Mini-Z F1's


briankstan
2006.08.07, 03:54 PM
Is there any chance that the F1 bodies will be released as an Autoscale? I would love to have them to display the bodies that I'm not racing.

Or if nothing else have a display chassis like the Autoscales come with for purchase seperatly. I know I would be in for several of these. Especially if they came with the new wheels and labeled tires. that would be awesme.

If anyone else is interested in something like this please add you comments so they can see there would be a demand for them.

thanks

bolter9
2006.08.07, 03:56 PM
Yeah absolutely- that's one thing that's sucked- not being able to display my spare F1 bodies without building a "blank" chassis from scrap.

arch2b
2006.08.07, 04:28 PM
who wouldn't want this?

to add to this question...(so as to not be inconflict with the rules for this section), is it the pricing that keep us from getting these? the f1 autoscales are already more expensive to begin with.

PLEASE keep this on topic and on question. this section is new and i'm already tired of splitting out conversation replies.

optimaforever
2012.12.24, 08:39 AM
You're right.
It would very nice. Would the cost be too much???

arch2b
2012.12.24, 09:00 AM
it should be feasible with fove and imx doing shapeways models. just a matter of building a model and stripping away as much material as possible to make it as cheap as possible and still hold things like the knuckles, motor mount, front wing, , side panels, etc.

imxlr8ed
2012.12.24, 09:28 AM
I'll see what I can do, I already have most of the F1 completed so it shouldn't be a huge deal. I'd be curious how much it would cost as well.

This is kind of in-line with another project I am currently working so I will update when I get this all figured out. :D

herman
2013.02.05, 10:08 PM
just picked up on this... and wondering if a dummy chassis can be fabricated via shapeways too... :D

kyoshosan
2013.02.05, 10:14 PM
This is a great idea! I'd also be interested. I know Hiro made a dummy (http://kyoshosan.blogspot.ca/2012/11/hiros-mini-z-motoracer-dummy-chassis.html) Body for the MotoRacer.

imxlr8ed
2013.02.05, 10:27 PM
80% there guys... getting sidetracked constantly.

Working on getting my design station more mobile in the future.

kyoshosan
2014.01.06, 10:04 AM
Hi Guys,

I was just wondering if we have any news on this front? I also would love to have my F1s on display.

imxlr8ed
2014.01.06, 10:09 AM
Still tied up with my motor mounts, kinda put this on the back burner but I do have much more of the chassis documented so it's only a matter of documenting the rest of the fastener points and shelling something out.

Really curious what kind of price Shapeways is gonna ask for due to the size.

kyoshosan
2014.01.06, 12:18 PM
thanks for the update :) looking forward for the finished product :D

cowboysir
2014.01.06, 08:02 PM
You know I'm in...I have 2 customs on the go and probably planning on 4 other favorite F1's that Id like to reproduce.

I'm holding out making an order to see these done so I can add to my cart.

imxlr8ed
2014.01.07, 02:07 AM
Ok, got my first finalized F1 mount out there now so I will now get back to the display chassis. I just had to get my first test version out there first!

kyoshosan
2014.01.07, 02:15 PM
Awesome news :)

kyoshosan
2014.03.23, 08:16 PM
imxlr8ed: I was just browsing through your Store and saw this:

http://images3.sw-cdn.net/model/picture/674x501_1648739_2029112_1390375370.jpg

I didn't know it was ready? did you post here? any way, do you have any pictures ? I saw that there are 2 versions, one white and another black? with a price difference, why?

Cheers!

imxlr8ed
2014.03.23, 11:17 PM
Pretty sure I sent out notification that it was up.
I actually just had my first review of it on here, I'd link but I'm on my pod.

The Black is a secondary process for Shapeways, in my past experiences it just seems like they dip the parts in black dye and then dry them. Much easier to do it yourself but I still keep the option on most of my parts if some do not feel like doing it themselves.

herman
2014.03.24, 03:02 AM
here's a link with pics of a jordan on the chassis (care of racer hh).... here (http://www.miniz-forum.de/f1-display-chassis-t22246.html)

looks pretty cool... my only comment is that maybe you could include a false "nut" that could be used on the outer rim to fill it in... to complete the look so to speak...

otherwise looks like a great product... hope to order some soon... :D
(maybe when you include the false outer nut?)

kyoshosan
2014.03.24, 08:41 AM
Pretty sure I sent out notification that it was up.
I actually just had my first review of it on here, I'd link but I'm on my pod.

I somehow missed it :) No worries.

looks pretty cool... my only comment is that maybe you could include a false "nut" that could be used on the outer rim to fill it in... to complete the look so to speak...

That's a great idea!

and if I may also propose one, It would be great if you could make 3 holes in the bottom of the chassis, similar to the dummy chassis, so that we could screw it on a base in a similar fashion. Not that we can't drill the holes ourselves but it would be nicer if it already came done in a centered position ;)

I will also be ordering soon. Is there a discount for large orders, say 10 chassis? let me know.

thanks again :)

imxlr8ed
2014.03.24, 10:21 AM
I somehow missed it :) No worries.



That's a great idea!

and if I may also propose one, It would be great if you could make 3 holes in the bottom of the chassis, similar to the dummy chassis, so that we could screw it on a base in a similar fashion. Not that we can't drill the holes ourselves but it would be nicer if it already came done in a centered position ;)

I will also be ordering soon. Is there a discount for large orders, say 10 chassis? let me know.

thanks again :)

I could do a post for mounting, I may also be able to include the outer wheel fillers as well. Right exactly now though... I am having severe issues with my design machine at home and can't do much of anything other than try to cleanly salvage my data from it.

Went online to download a program for my son and the wife downloaded all kinds of malware trojan virus BS! ABC Mouse opened the door, and I think every hacker in the world tore into my machine! It now refuses to go past page one for the internet, corrupted everything. I am planning to get it to a computer guy to either clean it up or throw it into a furnace.

Pricing is near bottom now, when I designed this and loaded it up into my store I nearly pooped when I saw the price for the raw material. My current margin is near squat on this and this is the one I've spent the most time on.

In the interest of keeping the F1s alive and well on shelves everywhere, I can knock about a buck off of these and still feel good about myself. Trust me... I'm not making much with this whole venture. I am only doing this because it's my design vacation from the daily job. ;)

On average last year... UID paid a little less than a quarter of my cellphone bill last year if that gives you guys any idea of where I'm at. Almost every dime I make goes into prototyping and shipping costs but that's the price you pay for the first few years in "business". :rolleyes:

kyoshosan
2014.03.24, 11:55 AM
Order a couple from your store. I will wait until you update the design to buy more, but these must calm down my cravings for it :)

I also post it on my blog: http://kyoshosan.blogspot.ca/2014/03/mini-z-f1-dummy-chassis-from-uid.html, hopefully it will give it boost on sales and help you keep up this great side job that you have :P

Cheers!

kyoshosan
2014.04.04, 07:09 PM
Received my 2 chassis today. I'm very excited to see how they will fit and stay on a display case.

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0772.jpg

my impressions to follow...

imxlr8ed
2014.04.04, 08:25 PM
I still didn't fet around to updating the file yet but if you're a DIYer like me, you'll more than likely find a way to mount them into the cases pretty quick.

I'd probably just match drill the dummy chassis to the case itself once I had the tires, front and rear wings mounted. Center it up and drill it out.

kyoshosan
2014.04.04, 10:03 PM
Well, I'm a bit disappointed :( the mounting holes for the front wing are slightly moved backwards making it almost impossible to mount the front wing, see photo below:

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0785.jpg

imxlr8ed
2014.04.05, 09:53 AM
I can't see the pics here at work but I will look into this tomorrow evening sometime.

arch2b
2014.04.05, 10:10 AM
can you not drill starter holes in the correct position?

kyoshosan
2014.04.05, 10:27 AM
can you not drill starter holes in the correct position?

The problem is that the holes that I'd need to drill would be just in the edge of the existing ones, I would need to fill the original holes first to attempt that.

I can't see the pics here at work but I will look into this tomorrow evening sometime.

Thanks

arch2b
2014.04.05, 10:32 AM
ah, understood. i've done repairs like that with jb weld to patch and re-drill pilot holes. it will work in a pinch, as i'm sure hot glue would as well. as a static model it only need to hold them in position.

i'm assuming the screw holes have not moved with the evolution of the chassis? i haven't even picked up my F1 in over a year.

imxlr8ed
2014.04.05, 01:04 PM
I'm really trying to think what could have happened here myself. There can't be a difference between the newer and older type chassis... I matched to my measurements and then overlayed an image onto the model itself and they matched up near perfect. And how did the other guy get his to mount? Wonder if he had the same issue and didn't mention it or he did and I'm just really rusty on my German. ;)

I'm not at all trying to dispute what you found K-san, if I would have ordered my own I probably would have found the same issue. I'm curious though... are the hole truly round on the ones you got? Only reason I ask this is because my last motor mount prototypes hald a flattening and near shifting of some of the hole patterns. I think it's based on print direction/model nesting on Shapeways part. I think at this scale, if it's rotated for the printup you just lose resolution.

I'll get to the bottom of it and post as soon as I do!

kyoshosan
2014.04.05, 04:39 PM
i'm assuming the screw holes have not moved with the evolution of the chassis? i haven't even picked up my F1 in over a year.

Arch2b, I think you nailed it. I just tried to mount a Ferrari F10 body and it worked:

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0787.jpg

The Jordan Bitten Heroes and the Williams FW25 would not mount correctly, no matter what.

I also took a MF-015 chassis and tried to mount the Jordan Body to it and it wouldn't fit the front wing. See Below:

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0795.jpg

Looks like the MF-010 and MF-015 Front Wing holes are slightly offset, being the MF-010 holes slightly forward than the ones from the MF-015.

Although the bodies do mount correctly on both chassis, the front wings won't. That's news to me. Looks like we will need another version of the display chassis for the older (MF-010) bodies.

kyoshosan
2014.04.05, 05:05 PM
I also tried the McLaren MP4-25 (MF-015) which also worked:

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0797.jpg

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0798.jpg

TheSteve
2014.04.05, 10:24 PM
The slight variation in the two chassis models sounds right. I have an old clear AM chassis and am using it with a newer body, the nose mount isn't quite in the proper location.

imxlr8ed
2014.04.06, 07:58 PM
I may just make the holes slots due to this being a non-race item. The screws can thread in wherever into the slots then. They should have plenty
of engagement into the sides of the slots to hold the nose in a proper location for any version then.

This is news to me as well, I've measured at least four different servo covers for the F1 and didn't come across any real deviations between them. I have older bodies and newer bodies mounted to the newer chassis and one new type chassis with the Jordan on it. Kinda leads me to believe that if therr was a deviation like that it would be tough to get that body onto the chassis.

Learn something new all the time I guess. :o

kyoshosan
2014.04.06, 08:12 PM
Other than that, the chassis looks great! It looks just like the real thing when the body is mounted on. The wheel attachment is genius, hats off to you for this hack.
Looking forward for the updated chassis. :)

kyoshosan
2014.04.06, 08:41 PM
Some images of the Ferrari F10 #8 F1 Body mounted on the chassis in a Autoscale Case:

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0802.jpg

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0806.jpg

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0807.jpg

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k226/kyoshosan/MIsc/IMG_0803.jpg

Looks Awesome, can't wait to have all my F1 Bodies like this :D