PDA

View Full Version : Help with mr02 PCB

locwan
2006.10.12, 01:38 AM
I've burnt my fets on one of my mr02 PCB, and promtly replaced the burnt fets with some stock fets which I had laying around. I know for certain that the fets are in working order, and I'm experienced with replacing fets.

However, when I was done with the replacment, I had no forward, only reverse. It doesn't look like this is due to bad fets, as I've tried different combination of fets.

To clarify, when I hit forward on the TX, I can hear and see the motor trying to move somewhat, as if the power isn't getting through. The reverse signal works just fine, regardless the motor wires' orientation.

I've also checked that the fet pads are all there in good condition.. just can't figure out what's wrong. Anyone experienced this? Help please.

hesstoys
2006.10.15, 08:20 PM
Hi,
Although I'm new to all this, I may be able to help since I'm an electronic engineer. I just got my 11 year-old son involved with this type of RC racing and decided to learn this area of electronics. I've worked with FETs for many years and I'm quite familiar with on-time/off-time and on-resistance etc (also the many types from Vishay). From what others have told me, the idea of stacking FETs is to lower the on resistance. This is good but you need to be careful on the type of FET package. Some have two N-Channel or two P-Channel or one N and one P-Channel. Also the orientation of the number one pin. If you give me the part number I can tell you the type and then work from there.

Vic

Spoon
2006.10.15, 08:44 PM
The stock FET's that people are referring to are most likely the 3004's. There is a slim chance that they are 3010's. The upgraded FET's are most like 4562's.

locwan
2006.10.15, 10:51 PM