PDA

View Full Version : Don't Laugh - Gen-1 Xmod Drifting


helee4
2007.01.22, 01:10 AM
Finally got a video for my gen-1 xmod

mods:
CF Chassis
Airtronic Receiver
SPY ESC
GPM 180 Motor
Li-Ion
All Alloy

www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrNF_haCDX0

ChattavegasSE
2007.01.22, 08:20 PM
Dang, can you even fit a body over that? :eek:

Flashsp-2
2007.01.22, 10:39 PM
Dang, can you even fit a body over that? :eek:

Yeah, you should pull the plastic casing off the reciever and speed control, it will free up enough room to put a shell on the car. This is what mine looks like with those items shrinkwrapped...
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/140/335019279_3764e3897e_o.jpg
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/164/335020749_15af1d1479_o.jpg

helee4
2007.01.23, 06:36 AM
Yeah, you should pull the plastic casing off the reciever and speed control, it will free up enough room to put a shell on the car. This is what mine looks like with those items shrinkwrapped...
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/140/335019279_3764e3897e_o.jpg
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/164/335020749_15af1d1479_o.jpg

Flagship:
Very clean! Can you post of pictures? I would like to see how you arrange your electronics, because I still think mine is too cluttered. I couldn't see servo in your picture, it is probably just the angle. Did you use Lipo? Were you able to stay as AWD with Lipo laying flat on the chassis?

MINIz guy11
2007.01.23, 02:38 PM
Could you guys give me an idea on how to mount the servo on mine too? Im still working on mine after a few months and its almost there. Need some help with servo mounting and RX help and then I will be set.

helee4
2007.01.23, 06:57 PM
Could you guys give me an idea on how to mount the servo on mine too? Im still working on mine after a few months and its almost there. Need some help with servo mounting and RX help and then I will be set.

Hello minizguy, I think I still owe you a chassis layout :)

But here is how I mount my the servo, I have cut a small piece out of CF board and elevate it above the drive shaft. And with this layout, it should even have room for your 180 size motor (that's what I have)

http://pic1.picturetrail.com/VOL1108/4366725/9219801/224903502.jpg

The servo horn is a bit tricky, you need to make sure it is the right length and not hitting the chassis. And I think you will need to modify the tie rod a little, so that the servo horn won't "pop" out. What I did was I use some epoxy (the one with metal contain, I got it from autozone). and make the tie rod openning closed (kinda like the micro RS4). Electronics, I shrink wrapped the Rx and leave the SPY in the case.

From my experience, if there is a tinyest mis-fit inside the body, there will be immediate binding and you will notice right away. Good Luck!

Flashsp-2
2007.01.23, 07:25 PM
Here you go. My li-po's sit almost flush against the driveshaft.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/154/335019278_7c0e964720_o.jpg

I am still trying to find a way to get the Spy to lay down a bit more...

MINIz guy11
2007.01.24, 02:54 PM
Alright, doesnt seem that hard to do with the platform. Still need a micro RX though.

helee4
2007.01.26, 08:02 AM
Here you go. My li-po's sit almost flush against the driveshaft.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/154/335019278_7c0e964720_o.jpg

I am still trying to find a way to get the Spy to lay down a bit more...

Very smart! Looks like you custom made a mount for the servo and secure it with the suspension post?

Flashsp-2
2007.01.27, 03:38 AM
That piece actually came with the TinyRC chassis kit...

MINIz guy11
2007.02.04, 05:45 PM
Helee, how high up is the mount from the chassis? Also, which servo arm did you use? I've finally decided to work on my car again so I need some help.

helee4
2007.02.05, 10:23 PM
Helee, how high up is the mount from the chassis? Also, which servo arm did you use? I've finally decided to work on my car again so I need some help.

If you see the small picture I draw, the space is about 2 mm clearing from the drive shaft. There are few servo horns come with a narrow cross one, and the other is is thicker. I have use the thicker one, cuz the other one tends to break easily.

MINIz guy11
2007.02.06, 02:19 PM
Can you give me a exact length? I only have some tubing for this so I dont want to waste any.