PDA

View Full Version : Core Installation Options and Startup Problems


Jonny
2007.07.09, 04:41 PM
Just a quick question for fellow Core users:

Does anybody know if there's a way to choose where to install Core when running the installation program, as it automatically chooses C: or the main drive and doesn't let you select?

The reason being is I have a dual boot Vista/XP machine and when using Core with Vista it runs OK but when scanning in tags, it doesn't save the tag in the 'lib/racers' folder, it just stays empty? When in Windows XP, this usually works perfectly. However now I have tried to start Core from my XP installation, the 'Core Competition Racing System' box pops up but the Core box doesn't respond and the program doesn't load. I have two USB cables and both let Core start under Vista (but has the tag problem) but in XP the PC detects the presence of a USB device and I already have the USB to serial convertors installed etc but as I say it won't start Core at all.

This has caused me massive headaches today... :(

Any help appreciated.

Jonny

arch2b
2007.07.09, 05:08 PM
this may be a stupid question but could you install core under both o.s.'s? do you have to partition the hdd to dual boot?

Jonny
2007.07.09, 05:46 PM
Hi Arch, yes I had to partition the drive to dual boot Vista/XP but if you aren't on the C: drive and try to install Core, it defaults to installing to C: regardless.

Anybody any ideas on why the tags won't show up in Vista or why Core won't startup under XP?

Jonny

Fovea3d
2007.07.09, 07:13 PM
Hi Jonny, Arch

Don't know if this is helpful. Under XP Pro with no SP2 upgrade or with W2K server I cant start Core at all if I don't use a shortcut with these strings:

With the Corebox plugged:
"C:\Program Files\CoreSpeedway\core-racer.exe" -port #(#=your USB port, mine: 5, found in hardware manager)
Without the Corebox plugged:
"C:\Program Files\CoreSpeedway\core-racer.exe" -port no-sensor-connected

Jonny
2007.07.09, 07:48 PM
Thanks Fov, the Core program does boot OK with the no sensor line but I still get nothing with a port designation. I'll certainly try again tomorrow when I'm not so tired!

Thanks for your help and will speak with you tomorrow.

Jonny

Jonny
2007.07.11, 01:24 PM
Well, just to update the thread:

Using Fov's idea with the 'port x' line didn't work so in the end I had to wipe Vista from C: and install XP there instead. After reinstalling the device drivers and Core (which defaults installation to C: as I mentioned), it starts up fine now. The only trouble we had was in testing last night, on our third race and 30 laps in, the system stopped counting laps but the timer carried on...I haven't tested any further yet to see if this occurs again.

I will restore Vista to the D: partition instead and configure the dual boot system again so hopefully I'll still be able to use that OS alongside also.

Jonny

Spoon
2007.07.11, 01:39 PM
That kind of sucks that you had to move the OS's to get it to work.

It would be nice if CORE took a more active role in the forums. It seems that it could only benefit CORE to do so.

Jonny
2007.07.11, 02:00 PM
That kind of sucks that you had to move the OS's to get it to work.

It would be nice if CORE took a more active role in the forums. It seems that it could only benefit CORE to do so.
You're absolutely right Spoon, it is a shame. I'm amazed at how little support and information there is to be honest in cases like this and in general (like getting blood from a stone!). Thankfully the community tries their best to help out :)

Jonny

Ninja
2008.03.04, 09:45 PM
thanks fovead. this info helped me alot