PDA

View Full Version : the ultimate f1 diff

hpgod
2007.07.31, 09:42 AM
Has anyone build a F1 diff using the new atomic/pn MR02 10 ball (12 ball Kawada) 44tooth spur gears?
If so can you get it to mesh right with the stock read pod or do you need the alloy rear pod?

arch2b
2007.08.05, 05:19 PM
do you mean the atomic motor pod? does anyone else make one?

hpgod
2007.08.06, 06:33 AM
I'll rephrase it can the stock kyosho rear pod be used or do you need the atomic diff mount.

domer
2007.08.07, 05:55 PM
Hey Art..

You wouldn't happen to be the same Art Shull that I graduated with in 1996 from UC?

If so - shoot me an email through here. We're trying to reconnect a large group of us back together.

monkey19
2007.08.07, 09:07 PM
I'll rephrase it can the stock kyosho rear pod be used or do you need the atomic diff mount.

you can use the stock pod

ruf
2007.08.10, 02:28 AM
Not to discourage anyone, but I don't really see the benefit from this. A bearing supported spur is nice, but the weight penalty is pretty high for the bearing + 4 extra balls. I've found that the Kyosho F1 diff is possibly the smoothest diff around in this scale.

hpgod
2007.08.11, 08:53 PM
Not to discourage anyone, but I don't really see the benefit from this. A bearing supported spur is nice, but the weight penalty is pretty high for the bearing + 4 extra balls. I've found that the Kyosho F1 diff is possibly the smoothest diff around in this scale.

My 10 ball PN mr02 diff is not bearing supported. 4 cermic balls is tiny in weight. I take more then that off the shafts and wheels. In theory the 10 ball should give the same rotation with less slippage off the line.

ruf
2007.08.12, 11:26 PM
Sand the rings with 800-1000 grit. This flattens the rings and gives more forward bite so you can run a looser setting for ultra smooth differential action. Old 1/12 trick.

hpgod
2007.08.13, 12:26 PM
I alwas wet sand them on 2000 on a glass plate till the finish is across the entire ring:)
Joe