PDA

View Full Version : Lthium Quick Question

blt456
2008.04.07, 12:41 AM
Hello, I am new to Mini-Z, I do not own one yet, I am looking at the mr-02 series, as it is faster.

I was going to go all-out with it, MOSFETs, custom tall-gearing, lithium, atomic/pn racing parts, and a motor.

I have read it's pointless to do lithium in the Mini-Z cars and trucks, I think it wears away the board quicker compared to NiMh, but is it really that bad?

I do have some Energier 900mAh IC3's, but I wanted to go fast..
Thanks for reading, and comments!:)

mk2kompressor
2008.04.07, 01:25 AM
drive it first;)
compared to xmods these things are rapid:D
this had a stock r and 2x2 of 3010 fets,plenty quick enough:)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uji7UGif4jQ

Action B
2008.04.07, 01:35 AM
I ran lithiums on my MA-010. Guys on this board convinced me it would be bad in the long run. It was very fast though, maybe too fast.

Here is the conversation, this would all apply to an MR-02 the same.

http://www.minizracer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=28081

EMU
2008.04.07, 05:12 PM
There are aftermarket turbos that allow you to run 7.4v with a BEC of 5v returned to the main board. Atomicmods makes one, and there used to be a Nelly deluxe (dont know if it is still available). I had a Nelly deluxe, and liked it a lot, although I fried it stupidly by not insulating the power connector. I wish I still had it :(

EMU
2008.04.07, 05:29 PM
Its not for the fets. Its to regulate the voltage to the PCB. So you dont overvolt it and screw up the steering. Only the Nelly Deluxe had the 5v BEC. The battery power goes to the motor, but the main elecrtronics would only have 5v.

nitroman38
2008.04.07, 08:59 PM
Hello, I am new to Mini-Z, I do not own one yet, I am looking at the mr-02 series, as it is faster.

I was going to go all-out with it, MOSFETs, custom tall-gearing, lithium, atomic/pn racing parts, and a motor.