PDA

View Full Version : Replacement chassis?


kryten
2008.05.21, 09:27 AM
Does anyone know where i can get a replacement chassis for my F1?
The shop here is out of stock,and i can't seem to find one anywhere.

Nasher
2008.05.21, 07:29 PM
Main- http://www.atomicmods.com/Products/Kyosho-MF01-Mini-Z-F1-Stock-Main-Chassis-Set__11175.aspx

Bumper holder- http://www.atomicmods.com/Products/Kyosho-MF02B-Mini-Z-F1-Stock-Front-Bumper__11170.aspx

Small Parts- http://www.atomicmods.com/Products/Kyosho-MF03-Mini-Z-F1-Stock-Chassis-Small-Parts__11174.aspx

All are in stock, think you could send me a pm when you get it installed, may get one for myself :D

kryten
2008.05.22, 06:11 AM
Thanks for that,i managed to get one from Reflex racing.I'll let you know when i've fitted it.

mini-z
2008.05.22, 02:16 PM
Does anyone know where i can get a replacement chassis for my F1?
The shop here is out of stock,and i can't seem to find one anywhere.

Man, people need to stop ordering so much stuff, we only got those in the other day! :D

Nasher
2008.05.22, 03:20 PM
Thanks for that,i managed to get one from Reflex racing.I'll let you know when i've fitted it.

Thanks, I can't wait to see it, good to see you got your stuff. Also that the shop seems pretty busy

kryten
2008.05.22, 03:26 PM
Man, people need to stop ordering so much stuff, we only got those in the other day! :D

I second that remark!:D They could at least have waited until i had ordered mine lol

RussF
2008.06.02, 05:32 PM
Does anyone know where i can get a replacement chassis for my F1?
The shop here is out of stock,and i can't seem to find one anywhere.

Kryten,
Did ya break something on it?

kryten
2008.06.02, 07:05 PM
The damage was done when i got it,it was my friends car....he dropped it and it shattered!

RussF
2008.06.03, 09:29 AM
Ok cool. I was just wondering if you just happened to have broke those little tabs off that support the front tie bar. I found a cheap fix for that.

kryten
2008.06.08, 03:57 PM
Bash_N_Trash: That might be a good idea to post anyway,i'm sure people have had that prob.
Anyone else bought a replacement chassis for their F1? Does it come with the little instruction book like the 02/AWD ones do?

PridgeoK
2008.06.08, 11:16 PM
Ok cool. I was just wondering if you just happened to have broke those little tabs off that support the front tie bar. I found a cheap fix for that.

I'm interested in hearing your fix as well, since I resorted to the expensive alloy tie-rod holders to fix this same issue on my cars (two F1's with broken tabs). Not so sure it was a good move now.

Not sure if it's related, but now I have a weird issue where the tie rods will jam on a strong turn, and it appears to be either tie-rod or the alloy knuckles that seize up on me. The F1 has pretty much a full atomic front-end - knuckles, tie rod and holder, so I would have thought they'd work well with each other... but I'm a bit frustrated this afternoon. I just put the tie-rod holder on the other day and made it's first run today, thus the association. Time to do some searching, I guess.

Kevin.

kryten
2008.06.13, 05:50 AM
They don't come with instructions,good job i took a load of photo's!

RussF
2008.06.16, 09:15 AM
Bash_N_Trash: That might be a good idea to post anyway,i'm sure people have had that prob.
Anyone else bought a replacement chassis for their F1? Does it come with the little instruction book like the 02/AWD ones do?

Ok here is the thread I posted on Salt Lake Mini Z on a Fix for the little plastic thingies. (http://www.saltlakemini-z.com/forum/index.php?topic=137.0) It is still working great for me so far.

reechaard
2008.06.26, 05:33 PM
I mostly see post on the Atomic replacement. Are there any other brands out there that carry the same parts. (chassis, engine mounts, etc.)

kryten
2008.06.27, 05:53 AM
As far as i know only Kyosho makes the replacement chassis,but there are plenty of different brands of hop-ups. Take a look at the shop here or do a search for F1 spares/hop-ups.

Programmers
2008.06.27, 07:31 AM
Yeah, Kyosho do the main chassis, small parts and metal parts. Atomic and PN also do replacement diffs, mounts and FRP plates.

reechaard
2008.06.27, 12:29 PM
Is it necessary to do the hop-ups to run this car on an RCP track? Or would
you say that it is good enough to run straight out from the box.

Programmers
2008.06.27, 01:05 PM
Kyosho 20's W and 30's N and you're away!

Chassis upgrades aren't REALLY necessary for any of the Mini-Z range with the exception of tires. It's all relative to how you want the car to drive and how competitive you are. I loved my stock F1 but because it's now part of the HFAY I've invested in some chassis upgrades myself.

reechaard
2008.06.27, 01:38 PM
What does HFAY mean?

Programmers
2008.06.27, 02:01 PM
How Fast Are You.

howfastareyou.com

reechaard
2008.06.27, 07:31 PM
HFAY, I guess I'm slow. I'm still considering on what to do. I currently have a 2.4 MR02 that I run stock with. I'm deciding on either buying another 2.4 MR02 to run pan car mod, or buy an F1. What would you guys recommend.

Thanks for the response.

hrdrvr
2008.06.29, 07:19 AM
^ If there is a strong following for F1 in your club, Id get one. It takes a totally different driving style and set up to run one of these, so the experience is much different than running a seperate MR02. Id go where ever the competition is though. You dont want to buy a car to run in a class that only gets to run every now and then.

reechaard
2008.06.29, 02:59 PM
Thank you HRDVR

kryten
2008.07.11, 06:46 PM
Well i finally got the fets done (i think i'll come to that in a bit). So i could build the car on the new chassis.This was easily the most fiddly z i've rebuilt so far!
I've had the pot etc in and out about six times,only my close up pics saved me!:o.
Now the bad bit :( the car goes forward fine(it flies!) with an x-speed in it.But i don't have any brakes/reverse at all.and i've adjusted the settings both ways on the TX to try to sort it.(KT-14).
Here's some pics of the car and my fet job.Please be kind :) nah j/k be honest lol.

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/sendapics/11072008563.jpg
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/sendapics/11072008564.jpg
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/sendapics/11072008565.jpg
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/sendapics/11072008567.jpg

I'll post pics of the body etc when i get this sorted.

mk2kompressor
2008.07.11, 09:42 PM
looks ok bud,looks like alot of heat though.
how did you remove the old fets?
all pads ok?

kryten
2008.07.12, 06:32 AM
I cut the legs off the old fets then removed them.All the pads looked fine,i made sure to check that before fitting the new fets.I'm just wondering now if i've cut the board when i cut the legs off the old fets.I don't remember seeing any damage to the board.
Is it likely i've fried the fets/board?

I also forgot to mention earlier,when the car is turned off it goes flat out until the batts are removed.Is this normal for a fetted car or is this a sign that i have messed up?

marc
2008.07.12, 09:36 AM
I still wonder why the F1's didn't have dumby chassis. Would be nice for us collectors.

dhamby123
2008.07.13, 05:29 PM
Well to me it looks like you burned (melted) alot of stuff on the board looks like your iron touched the receiver box and the top fet toward the inside . just my thoughts

mk2kompressor
2008.07.13, 07:04 PM
possibly overheated the fets when fitting them,the small burn in the black box will do no harm:)
id get a multimeter and check the legs to make sure they are not touching

hrdrvr
2008.07.14, 08:09 AM
Underneath of the inboard FET is where the batterty power hooks up. There is a little resistor in between the contacts. If you got the board hot, there is a possibilty some solder from one of those contacts ran, and touched the resistor between them. This happened to me, and for the life of me I couldnt figure it out. Upon inspecting the bottom of the board thats what I found. Once cleaned up I didnt need to take the batteries out to stop the car, and both directions worked flawless. Im uploading a pic of the resistor in question. Ill have a pic up later if you need it.

kryten
2008.07.14, 10:27 AM
@mk2 thanks Matt i wondered about the black box thing.If i overheated them would that cause them to only work in one direction? I'll check the legs and post back here.

@hrdrvr thanks very much the pic will be very usefull.

hrdrvr
2008.07.14, 10:50 AM
This is the pic.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v618/freekfornature/RCs/MiniZ/2008-07-14029.jpg

The piece I had trouble with is labeld as R2. Once I cleaned up the solder around them, everything started working fine again. You can see my board was pretty burnt from the top. I got a bad batch of FETs and one caught on fire within a few minutes of turning it on. It only lasted a few seconds, but it was enough to rea ksome havoc. I had to have a friend clean/fix it up for me, as it was more than I coudl handle on my own :D

Here is another angle just for giggles.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v618/freekfornature/RCs/MiniZ/2008-07-14035.jpg

kryten
2008.07.14, 11:00 AM
Thanks very much for the quick reply,and the brill photos :D I'll check it out this evening.

kryten
2008.07.16, 09:36 AM
I did have continuity between two legs,so i've sorted that.When i put batts in it to try it out i had smoke from the other stack(the one that was fine) from the rear(blobbed side) of the fet stack.
I dont understand why this stack is now smoking when it was fine,and it's only the other stack that was altered/fixed. In these pics it's the right hand stack as you look at it that smoked,but it was the left stack that had continuity between two seperate legs.Now i'm really confused as to what the hell is going on here.
Here's the pics anyhow.
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/sendapics/16072008569.jpg
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/sendapics/16072008573.jpg

i might try a total re-do to see if that helps.Any ideas anyone?

mk2kompressor
2008.07.16, 10:35 AM
hmm,id have to see it really but if its smoking sounds like one of the lower fets might be screwed

kryten
2008.07.16, 11:44 AM
I'm just debating whether to try a total re-do or just send it to you! lol
I really want to be able to do this myself,ah well i s'pose if i fry it totally it's an excuse to 2.4 the f1 :D

kryten
2008.07.16, 07:03 PM
I took a pic of the underside of the board and i can't see anything amiss.

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/sendapics/17072008579.jpg

mk2kompressor
2008.07.16, 07:14 PM
looks fine to me

kryten
2008.07.16, 08:30 PM
I've took them off now,i'm gonna make sure the board is clean and re do them.

mk2kompressor
2008.07.16, 08:35 PM
respect if you are doing them at 2.30am!!
i just done the AD swap on mine at work:D

kryten
2008.07.16, 09:38 PM
I'm giving up for the night now.I can barely see straight at all,the only way i can get rid of the blurriness is to do this :eek: so it's bed time.:)

kryten
2008.07.17, 08:59 AM
ATM i feel like a puppy chasing it's own tail,I'm going round in circles and getting no-where!
I have re-fitted the FETs and have continuity on each leg,no cross continuity on the legs and the blobbed side is fine too.However i have steering but no drive whatsoever.
So other than getting the big hammer out to adjust it,i'm not sure what to do.

mk2kompressor
2008.07.17, 09:36 AM
ive got 4 7317's sat here(no 4562 atm)i could lob on for you?

kryten
2008.07.17, 10:16 AM
Right this is getting wierder,i just checked the fets over (again) with the multimeter,all is still what it should be.However when i put batts in the car it goes flat out in reverse and now has no steering or throttle response.Could any of this be down to batts not being fully charged?

EDIT there's no real rush to get this finished as the annual staffs 500 was last month! I get the feeling you'll be seeing this car sooner rather than later tho Matt as i really don't have a clue whats wrong,i'm beggining to wonder if i fried it.

mk2kompressor
2008.07.17, 11:51 AM
oh ok thats cool,didnt know if you needed to race it:)
just let me know

ruf
2008.07.17, 01:15 PM
Could be a botched FET stack. I've managed to mount a FET backwards underneath the stack. Either that or a short in the legs, but you've pretty much ironed that out. The black box is a resonator and shouldn't be affected much by the heat, unless you really cook it.

Sounds like it's time for a 2.4GHz upgrade!

kryten
2008.07.17, 01:55 PM
Well the problem is,this chassis is going to be a nascar cupcar so it needs to be 2x2 4562's.That is the spec for our clubs cupcar races.

ruf
2008.07.17, 02:08 PM
So replace the 3010's on the 2.4GHz board with 4562's... :)