PDA

View Full Version : Charge/Discharge Rates

Programmers
2008.06.04, 11:10 AM
I am assuming if I have a 1000mah batter and I charge it at 1000ma it will be quickly charged? I'm completely new to manually programming my charger and am interested in this. I've found some good resources, such as battery university and three racing blogs but none answer my questions. Does it go without saying? I dunno. Here's my questions...

Generally, for a good slow charge - what rate should I charge a 900/1000mah AAA battery at?

For a good discharge - what discharge rate would I discharge the above battery at?

For an accurate analysis of my battery - what would be the recommended charge and discharge rate?

- Does speed make a difference here or would a quick analysis be as accurate as a slow one?

I would really really appreciate some advice here. :)

Tom.

schmenzer
2008.06.04, 11:51 AM
What charger are you using?

If you had a totally dead 1000mAh battery and charged at 1000mAh it would take an hour to fully put back in those 1000mAh. This is called 1C charging and is good for our NiMh batteries. Of course a battery is never totally dead but if you discharge you batteries after use you will be pretty close.

For a slow charge use 1/10th C or 100mAh.

Ideally, for discharge you would approximate the actual use of the battery in the car. Chargers that have an automatic discharge/charge cycle typically discharge at 1/2 the charge rate so 500mAh for a 1000mAh charge but this is not always true. Dedicated dischargers like the PN Racing AAA Discharger discharge at 1 Amp. This is more like what our cars use and is better than auto settings on chargers.

Just as important as discharge rate is the low voltage cutoff for the cell. If you are going to recharge right away .7 is good. If you are going to discharge and store batteries .9 is better.

Greg

Programmers
2008.06.04, 11:55 AM
I have the MaHa MH-C9000...

I don't think I can choose my amps for the analysis or can I?