PDA

View Full Version : 3PK 2.4 ASF work good!


crazyracer
2008.06.18, 11:01 PM
Today I use modify AD module method, modify my to my Futaba to 2.4 ASF Mini-Z, it s work great, everything same as my EX10.


http://www.reflexracing.net/module.asp

Programmers
2008.06.18, 11:17 PM
That's awesome.

I was curious if the module helped iron out the reverse delay on the 2.4?

shimey
2008.06.18, 11:51 PM
That's awesome.

I was curious if the module helped iron out the reverse delay on the 2.4?

Wondering the same thing. Anyone heard of any adaptation of a Spektrum DX3R? Subscribed.

CristianTabush
2008.06.19, 12:52 AM
Glad you liked our tutorial Philip!

dameetz
2008.06.19, 10:18 AM
Today I use modify AD module method, modify my to my Futaba to 2.4 ASF Mini-Z, it s work great, everything same as my EX10.


http://www.reflexracing.net/module.asp

Thanks for sharing the info crazyracer . This is a very good news to me as I was about to order the combo set of EX10, I guess I just need to order the 2.4 module then and convert it to my 3PKS. Now,where can I buy Futaba module casing?

p.s if you can pls post pic of your modded module? Just need to see how do you mount the antenna.

cowboysir
2008.06.19, 10:47 PM
you could easily buy an FM module on the Bay for a couple bucks.

I would like to know if the board can be programmed around it's delay that i've heard so much about...with my poor driving skills I need all the help i can get.:D

pchan0
2008.06.20, 11:09 AM
Today I use modify AD module method, modify my to my Futaba to 2.4 ASF Mini-Z, it s work great, everything same as my EX10.


http://www.reflexracing.net/module.asp

How did you get it to fit the 3PK's module compartment?

Davey G
2008.06.20, 11:26 AM
When is the Airtronics module coming out?? :rolleyes:

crazyracer
2008.06.20, 11:59 AM
How did you get it to fit the 3PK's module compartment?


Peter, I just use two JST make wire, the plug for 3PK 1st and 2nd pin, connect to KO 1st and 3 rd pin, and othe plug for 4th and 5th pin, connect to KO 4th and 5th pin, and use waco tape the KO module on the 3PK.

dameetz
2008.06.20, 01:56 PM
Peter, I just use two JST make wire, the plug for 3PK 1st and 2nd pin, connect to KO 1st and 3 rd pin, and othe plug for 4th and 5th pin, connect to KO 4th and 5th pin, and use waco tape the KO module on the 3PK.

I dont get it. Did put the KO board inside the Futaba module casing as per reflex racing tutorial? Can u pls post some pics?

cowboysir
2008.06.20, 07:37 PM
sounds like he used a couple wire leads and plugs and just taped it all up...very ghetto.:cool:

I guess I won't be getting my question answered.:rolleyes:

yasuji
2008.06.21, 02:16 PM
sounds like he used a couple wire leads and plugs and just taped it all up...very ghetto.:cool:

I guess I won't be getting my question answered.:rolleyes:

i got to see this mod last night......basicly it looks verry cool and makes perfect sence for crazyracer as he has both radios...ko and 3pk.....
in a nut shell....he has 4 wires coming out of the ko module.....for the 3pk you plug in the wires and attach the module w/ velcro to the side of the 3pk...
if he wants to, he can simply unplug form the 3pk and insert the module into his helios in seconds.....:p...in my book that is smart thinking !!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D
needless to say, he didnt have to waste a 3pk casing ,or waste a 2.4 module
great mod crazyracer!

mleemor60
2008.06.21, 03:46 PM
Please get some good photos up of what was done and how it was done. As a lefty this is a necessary mod for me.

crazyracer
2008.06.25, 05:26 PM
http://www.pnracing.us/3PK1.jpg
http://www.pnracing.us/3PK2.jpg
http://www.pnracing.us/3PK3.jpg
http://www.pnracing.us/3PK4.jpg
http://www.pnracing.us/3PK5.jpg
http://www.pnracing.us/3PK6.jpg

mleemor60
2008.06.25, 07:31 PM
Phil

Thank you very much for the post and EXCELLENT pictures. From here I can get my soldering Guru to take over. Thanks again

Z_408
2008.07.03, 04:49 PM
Do I run this on HRS, PPM, or PCM?

thanks.

cowboysir
2008.07.03, 05:24 PM
Without having the asf module(yet) I would guess you should use PPM. I've just modded an AD module and tried PCM...crazy freaky glitching action with random high output throttle without touching anything.:eek:

Try PPM first.;)

crazyracer
2008.07.03, 09:02 PM
Do I run this on HRS, PPM, or PCM?

thanks.

yes, only work on PPM

CristianTabush
2008.07.03, 11:30 PM
A fully detailed tutorial will be out by monday ;)

warfile
2008.07.04, 04:13 AM
So, to modify the KO module for the 3PK we cut the 2 and 3 tabs and then we solder the 2 to the 3 and should be OK, right?
I'm going to do the MOD today and don't wan't to make any mistake with it!

cowboysir
2008.07.04, 09:21 AM
The AD conversion pictorial tutorial (say that three times fast:D) at reflexracing is really very clear and concise...you should have no problems following their lead.

I can't wait until mine arrives...I'm almost contemplating clearing out all my AM cars.:cool:

warfile
2008.07.04, 10:24 AM
I have both the 2,4ghz and the Futaba case in front of me and they not match!! How the hell do you guys put it in the 3PK without bending the radio contact pins???

http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff294/pchan0/CIMG2177.jpg

cowboysir
2008.07.04, 06:25 PM
Take a close look at the case they've modified...they've cut down one side of the lower box to allow the plug contact to line up. You'll also notice that they've cut one side of the top box so that they can use the original in the 3PK slot.

warfile
2008.07.05, 04:35 AM
I've done the MOD yesterday and the only way that i came up with to fit it without any problem was desolder de capacitor and trim the board until it fits correctly them solder the capacitor again. It works great!:)
The only thing i cant do is to put the cover on...

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn27/rbwarfile/DSC08442.jpg

Tjay
2008.07.05, 01:12 PM
^ I don't think you have to go that far for this conversion but whatever fits your needs :).

although I don't have 3pk... thanks for posting the pics and how-to. I get questions from the track regarding stuff like this ;).

wcrotty
2008.07.17, 03:09 PM
Does anyone have the pinout for the m11 so i can use that radio?

crazyracer
2008.07.17, 10:51 PM
Bill, I have some information can switc to M8, but NO M11! :o

wcrotty
2008.07.17, 11:06 PM
Hi Philip,

I believe the M8 and M11 are the same pin outs. I am able to use the M8 AM module in my M11 with no problems. So it should work.

cowboysir
2008.07.27, 04:51 PM
Well, I'm happy to report another conversion that has been successful...I followed the tutorial at reflexracing with one small exception/variation. Instead of trying to manipulate the diode that gets resoldered on at an angle I decided to make a couple jumper cables out of thin guage wire. This keeps the diode out of the way/off of any possible short areas and still allows for function.

Thanks peter, christian and joe for setting the trend for me to follow.:D

infanterene
2008.07.30, 11:02 PM
Great looking job. Might look better with black heat shrink but still looks awesome. How do you know where to connect each plug on the 3pk?

CristianTabush
2008.07.30, 11:22 PM
http://reflexracing.net/FutabaSS_How_to.asp

check the link...

infanterene
2008.07.31, 12:25 PM
what i meant was that without marking the jst plugs it looks like they can easily be connected to the wrong pins on the 3pk.

CCL
2008.08.17, 01:21 AM
Hi All

It look quite complicate to modify !

We have conversion board in Taiwan, just plug in no modify is required

supafastsupra2
2008.08.24, 02:23 PM
Hi All

It look quite complicate to modify !

We have conversion board in Taiwan, just plug in no modify is required

Where can we purchase these from? :confused:

z3zinho
2008.08.25, 06:35 AM
If thar works with the M11 i'm realy interested in it... tell us more about those ;)

crazyracer
2008.08.26, 09:56 AM
Hi All

It look quite complicate to modify !

We have conversion board in Taiwan, just plug in no modify is required

I had PM you, please check.

mleemor60
2008.08.26, 10:27 AM
Phillip, Please check your email at your business. Yasuji said I should contact you about a product I purchased

crazyracer
2008.08.26, 01:54 PM
Phillip, Please check your email at your business. Yasuji said I should contact you about a product I purchased

I have not get your email, can you send it again philip@rckenon.com

CCL
2008.08.28, 10:06 AM
Please find message

sil40sx
2008.09.18, 10:43 PM
HELP PLEASE!

Hello, 1st off I am new mini-Z. I just picked up a 2.4 AWD chassis and was so happy when I discovered you can modify the KO mini Z module to fit a Futaba.

The thing is, I don't have a 3PK, but a 3PJ (which I usually use with a Spectrum Pro Module for a 3PK) So I thought this still might work. So half way through this cool mod [http://reflexracing.net/FutabaSS_How_to.asp]. I decided to try it on my 3PJ before I went to move the diode or cutting board (basically I cut pins 2 & 3 and jumped the the bottom of 2 and the top of 3 and keep the loose ends open)

What I discovered is it worked, sort of. It seems like it binds okay, steering works, but the throttle only has forward and then goes to a drag brake without any reverse. I played with all the throttle setting on the 3PJ, but nothing helped.

I decided to reconnect it to the stock layout and try it on a friend's KO radio, but I didn't get a good connection on pin 2 and noticed it did the same thing. Then I fixed pin 2 and it works perfect. I was wondering if any one would have any insight on my problem. What would happen, if I connected the 2 open ends also (i.e. top of 2 to the bottom of 3 as well)

Please any help would be appreciated. I would like to keep using my 3PJ. Thanks

Stoney
2008.09.30, 09:25 AM
Hi All

It look quite complicate to modify !

We have conversion board in Taiwan, just plug in no modify is required

Hi

that sounds as well very interesting for me, where can I get one of those conversion boards?

Cheers
Stoney

crazyracer
2008.09.30, 02:21 PM
Hi

that sounds as well very interesting for me, where can I get one of those conversion boards?

Cheers
Stoney


Will be open for sell by PN Racing, please check www.pnracing.com after 10/20

Stoney
2008.10.01, 08:46 AM
Will be open for sell by PN Racing, please check www.pnracing.com after 10/20

Ok, thanks. I will stay sticked to that :cool:

Cheers
Stoney

dahlis
2008.10.02, 03:02 AM
Will this module mod. work with the Futaba 3PjS. I`ve been using the 3PK am module in my 3PjS before and it worked great. I also know that spektrums module suits both 3PK and the 3PjS.
I don`t want to spend my money on a new transmitter for the 2.4 min-z because i really like my 3PjS.
Please answer i`m getting frustrated with the Kt 18.

sil40sx
2008.10.02, 11:04 PM
Will this module mod. work with the Futaba 3PjS. I`ve been using the 3PK am module in my 3PjS before and it worked great. I also know that spektrums module suits both 3PK and the 3PjS.
I don`t want to spend my money on a new transmitter for the 2.4 min-z because i really like my 3PjS.
Please answer i`m getting frustrated with the Kt 18.

I just bought one an tried. It works but not correctly. The throttle doen't seem to be right. I asked for some help a few post up, but didn't receive any replies. Hope you have better luck. If you do find something out please let me know. Thanks.

yokmaster
2008.10.23, 12:07 PM
Dont see the conversion board for sale yet on pn- its after 10-20. If anyone knoes where to get one it would be greatly appreciated (it can also be used for ad on m8-m11)

crazyracer
2008.10.28, 05:07 PM
it will be release next Monday US$26.88, check it out next Monday pnracing.com and rckenon.com

gomez
2008.10.29, 07:23 AM
anyone knows where they selling this futaba / sanwa adapter posted by CCL ?

z3zinho
2008.10.29, 10:45 AM
anyone knows where they selling this futaba / sanwa adapter posted by CCL ?

It will be released next monday by PN Racing..
:rolleyes:

Hypocrisy
2008.10.29, 12:10 PM
does this meen that i can use the ko 2,4 module and the conversion board with my hitec crx radio? i used the radio with a futaba 27am module on my older mini z cars

Stoney
2008.11.05, 05:48 AM
it will be release next Monday US$24.88, check it out next Monday pnracing.com and rckenon.com

Any news?

Cheers
Stoney

crazyracer
2008.11.05, 07:29 PM
Any news?

Cheers
Stoney

Already in stock, but the price had little changed base on the costing going up.

http://www.rckenon.com/public_html/shop2/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=3855

Stoney
2008.11.06, 11:29 AM
Yes!!! Ordered it today, thanks. :D

Cheers
Stoney

jdob
2008.11.06, 10:04 PM
Any reviews for the use of this 2.4ghz Mini-Z Module adapter with the Airtronics M8? Does this thing work or not? Any info is greatly appreciated! I was actually thinking of selling my M8 and getting an EX-1 UR, but if this thing works with my M8 that would be awesome!

dabinn
2008.12.02, 05:47 AM
Any reviews for the use of this 2.4ghz Mini-Z Module adapter with the Airtronics M8? Does this thing work or not? Any info is greatly appreciated! I was actually thinking of selling my M8 and getting an EX-1 UR, but if this thing works with my M8 that would be awesome!

Yes, it works on M8,too.

driftsider
2009.01.02, 03:38 AM
got mine last year it works great with my 3PK but a little bit loose.
thanks to Tjay (fastpace racing )hooking me up some stuff.

Tjay
2009.01.02, 04:01 AM
driftsider: Still tweaking your car I see. :) I hope you got your 3PK to work. If not, you can always borrow my spare Helios. ;) See you at the track!

Darth_Hell
2009.01.13, 09:26 AM
i am using a m11 but with the pn adapter, wont it be loose or slopping? since the m11 module slot is behind.

i am so keen to own a 2.4 but worry e module falling out with e pn adapter as there will not be a clip to hold the whole module/ pm adapter.

CristianTabush
2009.01.15, 11:32 PM
I have seen faulty adaptors, I would not be surprised if that was the case.

yasuji
2009.01.16, 12:58 AM
i am using a m11 but with the pn adapter, wont it be loose or slopping? since the m11 module slot is behind.

i am so keen to own a 2.4 but worry e module falling out with e pn adapter as there will not be a clip to hold the whole module/ pm adapter.

i have seen many people usin the adapters.... and many different way to secure them.....i havent heard any complaints yet;)

SabRC
2009.04.05, 05:40 PM
How do you secure the module with the adaptor in the 3pk. Seems pretty weak if its not secured down. Thanks for the help.

JuniorWKR
2009.04.06, 10:49 AM
How do you secure the module with the adaptor in the 3pk. Seems pretty weak if its not secured down. Thanks for the help.

just have your local hobby shop cut the module down for you and by doing this it will ffset the pins and allow it to fit into the factory 3pk position and you will be able to use the factory cover.... i did this to mine and it works great...

pchan0
2009.04.06, 12:31 PM
You can see this,

http://www.mini-zracer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=28905

or

http://reflexracing.net/FutabaSS_How_to.asp

http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/ff294/pchan0/CIMG2178.jpg

Tjay
2009.11.11, 03:24 PM
Thanks Reflex and PN! I hope this fix the glitch I'm having w/ my 03!