PDA

View Full Version : Rebuilding Monster peice by peice help!

marc
2008.07.29, 09:21 PM
Hello there. A few months back I got a Monster truck as part of a trade. It was the 50th anniversary with the chromed body. Body is nice, but the chassis needs work. Bad motor and steering.
Anyway, I totally disasembled it peice by peice and as budget allows I will be slowly rebuilding it into a show truck with go capabilities. It would be fun to drive this outside.
My goal is to build it with as many silver alloy peices as possible with some gold accents. Is there available a smoked chassis kit for it? And, is there a 2.4 conversion kit for it? Can it handle a normal MR02 2.4 PCB board? It would be nice to have a glitch free show truck. Also, what power do you recommend for this heavy metal project? This truck is littlery down to the last screw and part.
By the way, I'm not good at soldering so I need bolt-on parts, and no lithium power.

HammerZ
2008.07.30, 01:09 AM
One thing I know about the monster is all that alloy adds alot of weight to it. More so than any other Mini Z. Fets and maybe lithium may be what you would need to get it to move. I don't know about a smoke chassis, you may be able to find an Overland smoke chassis set. The only difference is the battery clips. I built my Recycler monster from all my stock parts after upgrading my original. I have more fun with the Recycler than I do with the one weighted down. The Recycler has had many parts replaced in that time, all stock pieces. Here you find out the difference between show and go for sure. An ASF 2.4 Monster sounds interesting though. The servo wires may need to be extended from an MR02 set to work.

marc
2008.07.30, 12:21 PM
Thank's Hammer. So the Overland has a smoked chassis set? Would I be able to use the Monster's battery clips on it? The Monster's clips has those tanks on it which add to the look. Be weird without it.