PDA

View Full Version : Helios EX-10? how to change gears??


briankstan
2008.08.06, 11:23 AM
I would like to use my helios with my brother in laws Traxxas E-Maxx. the truck is equipt with a 2 speed transmission, he couldn fing the TX that came with it.

I know there is probably a way to set it up to the BT-1 button so it will change gears when the button is pushed.

anyone know how to do this?

Hood
2008.08.06, 11:39 AM
Yes, When using the KO recievers with three channels, or using the optional 3rd channel device that KO offers. You can program the button to switch gears, but it doesn't change the setting, when you release the button it switches back. You would have to hold down the button the entire time you were in 1st or 2nd Gear.. or Forward/Reverse depending on E or T.. With the T for Reverse this would probably work much better than it did on my E..

It is faily cheap to buy a new Traxxas TQ3..

Goodluck.

briankstan
2008.08.06, 12:31 PM
yea, I'm debating buying a new or used E-maxx and was just testing it out to see if I like it.

he didn't have the TX so I figured I'd use mine and see if it worked.

thanks for the info.

Hood
2008.08.06, 07:05 PM
With the Traxxas AM reciever, you will not get anything because the Helios AM module is 2 ch.. With the KO, it works but not very good and not very cheap..

Hood