PDA

View Full Version : First Mini-Z monster - best upgrades for insane obstacles?

Coopinho
2008.09.17, 04:51 PM
Hi all! I'm completely new to this - got my first ever Mini-Z Monster today (my first RC vehicle ever in fact! I know!) - so please forgive any ridiculous questions. I'm keen to use it to do jumps, climb steep obstacles and generally be a bit of a beast, whilst remaining a good alrounder. Wheelies would be good too. Now, I'm not ready for soldering or anything that expert (unless you'd advise otherwise), but I am eager to get under the body and do some tinkering to get it performing brilliantly.

So I guess what I'm after is advice on what things I should do to make it a seriously kick-ass little machine for powering through difficult courses?

Also, if you're kind enough to offer some advice, please remember I know nothing about this stuff but am keen to learn, so any explanations of what your talking about and the genuine benefits are hugely appreciated.

Thanks!

kryten
2008.09.17, 05:41 PM
I'm assuming at the mo your's is completely stock?
The first upgrade you should get if you want to do jumps etc are alloy shock towers(the little plastic bars that the shocks mount to) and a full bearing kit will make everything run smoother(and hopefully increase battery times a little too).
I'm not sure how big your budget is so that's a start.
Also it's a good idea to use threadlock on any screws that go into alloy,as vibrations tend to work them loose otherwise.
Hope this helps and have fun!

Coopinho
2008.09.17, 05:46 PM
Hi Kryten. Thanks for the initial tips, that sounds like a good start to kick things off

Yep, it's completely stock. Let's assume money isn't an object.

Anymore tips hugely welcome. Keep 'em coming! :)

kryten
2008.09.17, 06:13 PM
Well here is mine,i only req the rear g/box casing in alloy and maybe the clear chassis.
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e109/sendapics/17092008847.jpg