PDA

View Full Version : Hacking the ICS cable


ianc
2008.10.17, 01:59 PM
Hi guys,

I'm intrigued by the ICS software and the ability to tweak the boards in our cars and would like to give it a try. Except...

The $75 price tag associated with the USB cable is a little out of control.

Since the software is available for download, it seems to me that it's just a question of fabricating a cable, which could be done for a lot less than that.

I'm wondering if anyone here has the cable and could give me a pin out of it, so I can cut up an old USB cable I have and make one?

Haven't seen this posted before, so I'm hoping some one can chime in?

Thanks,

ianc

flat 4
2008.11.02, 10:27 AM
I havent seen an ICS cable yet where cant you buy one at?

arch2b
2008.11.02, 10:41 AM
ingenious idea. i too will be looking for answers here. having made my own rj45 cabling, this can't to bad can it?

danieluki
2008.11.03, 05:22 AM
I also thought the same about doing yourself , but finally bought it and...
Take a look what is inside:
http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/9180/dsc00358bu8.jpg

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/5683/dsc00356ny5.jpg

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/7454/dsc00357vd2.jpg
I think that wil be impossible to copy....

Tim Johnson
2008.11.03, 08:46 AM
I havent seen an ICS cable yet where cant you buy one at?

http://shop.tinyrc.com/product.php?productid=18709&cat=0&page=1

ianc
2008.11.03, 02:24 PM
Are we talking about the same thing here?

Danieluki: is this what you purchased?

http://mini-zracer.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=25876&d=1225740238

ianc

ub0211042
2008.11.03, 10:54 PM
http://www.kopropo.co.jp/product/images/ics/61006.jpg
will the ICS for AD Band work for 2.4?

CCL
2008.11.15, 11:50 AM
I also thought the same about doing yourself , but finally bought it and...
Take a look what is inside:
http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/9180/dsc00358bu8.jpg

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/5683/dsc00356ny5.jpg

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/7454/dsc00357vd2.jpg
I think that wil be impossible to copy....

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Hi All

Kyosho selling price is too high to accept!!!!!

The similar product already have in Taiwan.

If you computer have com port, you only need to buy this cable.

If you do not have com port in your computer then you need to buy USB adapter in computer shop.

This cable is less than US$50

Kyosho sell price is too high

ianc
2008.11.15, 12:57 PM
Nice pictures CCL; making a cable like that is what I wanted to do!

Can you provide the pin-out for it? That is, say which pins on the com port are connected to which ports on the car's ICS port?

Thanks for any help,

ianc

CCL
2008.11.15, 08:11 PM
Nice pictures CCL; making a cable like that is what I wanted to do!

Can you provide the pin-out for it? That is, say which pins on the com port are connected to which ports on the car's ICS port?

Thanks for any help,

ianc

Hi

It was not easy, just connect wire .

There have IC inside connector

ianc
2008.11.15, 09:13 PM
It was not easy, just connect wire

Ha, not until I know which pins go to which. I think you are misunderstanding me, so let me try again:

I see that your cable has three wires: red, black, and white. I can see from your second picture how (in what order) they connect to the car.

What I don't know is which pins on the serial cable those three wires connect to.

I believe (if I remember correctly) that a serial (COM) connector has 8 pins.

So, which pin does the red, the black and the white connect to?

Thanks very much for any help, and please let me know if you can't understand my question,

ianc

pinwc4
2008.11.15, 11:39 PM
Ha, not until I know which pins go to which. I think you are misunderstanding me, so let me try again:

I see that your cable has three wires: red, black, and white. I can see from your second picture how (in what order) they connect to the car.

What I don't know is which pins on the serial cable those three wires connect to.

I believe (if I remember correctly) that a serial (COM) connector has 8 pins.

So, which pin does the red, the black and the white connect to?

Thanks very much for any help, and please let me know if you can't understand my question,

ianc

I would not do this if I were you. From the looks of everything posted the ICS port on the Mini-Z runs with a CMOS voltage level for serial communications, (0-5 Volt). A standard COM port on your computer has a voltage level of -12V to +12V. You will damage something if you tie the two together.

I imagine that serial cable posted earlier has at least 1 chip in it to convert the levels. Something like a MAX232 would work.

The USB adapter posted above uses a standard FTDI chip, I could not tell which from the picture as I could not make out the model number. This chip takes care of the voltage level problem for you as it operates at a CMOS level.

Is the software freely available? If so I would just use something like this:
http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/EvaluationKits/UB232R.htm

And connect the ground, send and receive pins.

We just need to know which FTDI chip was used to be certain.

danieluki, can you tell us the model number, it should start with FT followed by a few numbers and maybe some letters again.

I can not believe Kyosho charges 75$ for a USB to serial convertor.

LED
2008.11.16, 05:53 AM
Ha, not until I know which pins go to which. I think you are misunderstanding me, so let me try again:

I see that your cable has three wires: red, black, and white. I can see from your second picture how (in what order) they connect to the car.

What I don't know is which pins on the serial cable those three wires connect to.

I believe (if I remember correctly) that a serial (COM) connector has 8 pins.

So, which pin does the red, the black and the white connect to?

Thanks very much for any help, and please let me know if you can't understand my question,

ianc


I think he means that there is an IC inside the serial connector. So its not simply a mather of having a pinout. There are some electronics insede the connector.

bmxtrev
2008.11.16, 06:58 PM
i tried "hacking" the port on an xmod once, and it blew up. IF you're gonna do this, be careful please. it would stink to ruin your board

ianc
2008.11.17, 06:26 PM
Thanks for the warning on the voltage levels gentlemen.

I have PM'ed Danieluki asking for more information about the chip on his ICS device, so hopefully he'll check in with a little more info for us.

Thanks for everyone's help,

ianc

arch2b
2008.12.01, 09:14 PM
the ics comes with 3 pin connectors. what is needed to connect to the asf port? it's a 4 pin connector.

Skv012a
2008.12.11, 02:31 PM
Boy this stuff is expensive. Is fine tuning the Z really worth 75$? Also, do all AFS boards fancy the adapter?

ianc
2008.12.11, 02:35 PM
Yes, the ICS stuff is ridiculously expensive. This thread has really gone nowhere because I can't seem to get Danieluki to respond, though I've PM'ed him twice...

At this point I'm thinking of upgrading my controller to something that can remember individual cars, like the KO EX-1 UR.

Having six cars with the KT18 makes it a PITA if your settings are different for each car. You're constantly tweaking things and not sure if you set them right...

And yes, all ASF boards have the ICS connector...

ianc

mleemor60
2008.12.11, 04:58 PM
It appears that the unit that PN is selling is for something other than 2.4 ASF. It is likely for the older AD-Band. I am waiting to hear back from some that should know what the deal is. I will post any and all information that I gather as soon as I have it.

yasuji
2008.12.11, 05:51 PM
It appears that the unit that PN is selling is for something other than 2.4 ASF. It is likely for the older AD-Band. I am waiting to hear back from some that should know what the deal is. I will post any and all information that I gather as soon as I have it.

it is the same cable......it just uses different software.....the most important peice is the ics usb adapter;)

mleemor60
2008.12.11, 06:23 PM
Grant,
Every cable that came with the programming kit from PN has a 3 pin. The 2.4 chassis has a 4 pin receptacle as I'm sure you know. What gives? If there is a secret how about passing it along.

What is the difference between what Kyosho shows on their support site and what Philip is putting out?

yasuji
2008.12.11, 06:38 PM
Grant,
Every cable that came with the programming kit from PN has a 3 pin. The 2.4 chassis has a 4 pin receptacle as I'm sure you know. What gives? If there is a secret how about passing it along.

What is the difference between what Kyosho shows on their support site and what Philip is putting out?

all u need to do is plug in the 3pins to the:D rear of the car

yasuji
2008.12.11, 06:42 PM
read this
http://minizracer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30125&highlight=ics

mleemor60
2008.12.11, 07:29 PM
Thank you sir. It is amazing how things will hide in plain sight.

Skv012a
2008.12.11, 07:47 PM
Last noob question- the stock 2.4 Kyo controller only allows 1 car to be bound? How much is another company's compatible alternative that is significantly better? Do the other controllers glitch at all? What about ICS tuning- car and controller are independent or not?

WeBoC
2008.12.12, 04:50 AM
Last noob question- the stock 2.4 Kyo controller only allows 1 car to be bound? How much is another company's compatible alternative that is significantly better? Do the other controllers glitch at all? What about ICS tuning- car and controller are independent or not?
Your controler is not bound to the car but the car is bound to the controler.
Thus you can have mutiple cars bound to 1 controller.

In my case I could get to grips with the KT-18, to much irregularities in setting trim.
With a ex-10 (or others like it) you have a visual indication of your setting which makes live a lot easier. And the you notice how off the PCB of the ASF really is. Mine give full throtle at 60% and full wheel lock at about the same rate.
Image what throtle control you gain with filtering out 40% of trigger movement that does nothing (maybe not 100% correct stattement but you can get the picture) ;)
And then you have the more expert setting (you can find much info about this all on this forum).

ICS tunning and controller tuning are independent. You can simulate some of the ICS settings using your controller but not all of them.
There is info about all the ICS settings on the forum.

I could'nt do without either anymore.

ub0211042
2009.04.15, 02:41 PM
hi,

can anyone tell if this is the same thing as kyosho's?

http://my.farnell.com/productimages/farnell/standard/1686451-40.jpg
http://my.farnell.com/ftdi/usb-rs232-pcba/module-usb-a-to-rs232-pcb-convertor/dp/1686451

and here's the data sheet:
http://www.ftdichip.com/Documents/DataSheets/Modules/DS_USB-RS232_PCB_V101.pdf

LED
2009.04.15, 05:05 PM
I'm thinking no.
It looks like its a simple USB to RS232 converter.

If you want a cheap programming tool readthis http://www.minizracer.com/forums/showthread.php?p=343662

z3zinho
2009.04.15, 05:49 PM
It isn't... rs232 uses +-12v and the signals are inverted (+12 equals logic 0 and -12 equals logic 1 ) while the ASF boards need 5v/gnd to work properly.

You need something like a RS232 to TTL or usb to TTL adapter. ;)