PDA

View Full Version : Caster Kit and Bearings

totalazneclipse
2008.11.26, 10:57 PM
I wanted to know if the caster kit was essential to having a complete setup on the 02's and I also wanted to know if you guys oil your bearings regularly. I'm still learning as far as Mini-z's go but I have some knowledge from 1/10th scale.

Thanks in advance.

cowboysir
2008.11.27, 01:00 AM
What i know of a "caster kit" is replacing the top arms with an alloy tower bar with a preset caster machined into it. I honestly can't remember the physical characteristics on what caster does to a mini-z (or any scale for that matter) but I find of my cars that have tower bars with a .5 degree caster they tend to be stable in high speed corners (for my limited racing knowledge at least).

As for bearings, some will say light lube and some will say dry (no lube)...I support both theories in cars and i don't notice too mcuh difference (it's probably just my limited skill again):D

totalazneclipse
2008.11.27, 04:21 PM
Thanks for the help cowboysir

rickyb
2008.11.27, 06:44 PM
i like to run .5 deg caster for stock and 1 deg in mod. i clean my bearings everyweek with motor spray. fill up a tube with spray and shake it for a while. (vibration gets the junk out) then use some trinity bearing oil and your good t go!:cool:

Slipstream
2008.11.27, 11:56 PM
Caster is another tuning option. It helps with stability because the front wheels will tend to self center. Caster also gives you camber rise. As the front wheels are turned the negative camber on the outside front wheel will increase. When setup correctly this is supposed to keep the tires contact patch to the ground centered on the tire and as large as possible when the car leans.