PDA

View Full Version : Tuning your F1...

JuniorWKR
2009.01.12, 01:54 PM
Im new to F1 and really enjoy the class. I was looking for some tuning techniques to make my F1 more competitive... Right now im running on RCP... I also purchaded all the bells and whistles - i.e: rear pod, side discs, top shock, front kyosho 40's and rear kyosho 10's... converted to 2.4... my major problem right now is the car spins out due to the rear... i checked all cleareances and nothing is hitting in thr front nor is the chassis bottoming out... any input would be greatly appreciated...

briankstan
2009.01.12, 03:28 PM
the Kyosho 10's are typically not a good tire for RCP.

I would change the Kyosho 20 rears, or pick up some PN 6 Rear ribbed tires. this will fix most of your spinout issues. I would also go with the Kyosho 30 fronts if you require more turning.

you might still have some spin issues, this would be due to tweak. you man need to shim you suspension plates to eliminate the tweak. you will want to use the PN shim set and adjust slowly.

as suspension neutral you need to shim so both front tires lift off the ground at the same time. use a small screw driver and lift from the center of the front wing, it's it bad you will notice it right away. it's pretty typical for it to be out.

Hope that helps you out. :)

EMU
2009.01.12, 11:50 PM
I personally like the Team Kyosho front slick tires, 20d or 23d. With Kyosho radial 20d rears. If I need a little more front grip, I add a few grooves myself. I think that having grooves molded in perform completely different than grooves cut into the tire. My grooves are very narrow and not very deep. I like the rear tires after the grooves wear out, I think there is a little more grip.

My F1 has a little oversteer, but it is very controllable for me.

What differential do you have?

Pierro
2009.01.13, 01:50 AM
Hello!

For my personnal F1, I use atomic 30 on front and kyosho 20 on rear.