PDA

View Full Version : Question for I-Lap users..

Mini-Me-Zee
2009.01.27, 09:16 AM
Hey guys,

I am familiar with providing power to the I-Lap transponder via the battery terminals on the MR-02. However, I don't like this installation due to the fact that the batteries will be drained by the transponder whether the car is switched on or off. I'd rather not have to remove the body between race heats to unplug the transponder.

I am looking for suggestions and pics if possible (I am not very tech savvy) on how to power the transponder on an older MR-02 (not the 2.4 GHz chassis with the extra plug) via the car's on/off switch.

Thank you,

Dan

Mini-Me-Zee
2009.01.28, 08:22 PM
For those of you who do connect your transponder to the battery terminals, do you find that your batteries drain noticeably faster during a race day, even when the car is switched "off"?

x_zminiracer
2009.01.29, 12:47 PM
Having used the I-Lap system for many years I can tell you straight up that the power requirements of the transponder just sitting there are so minimal that there is absolutely no need to worry about it draining the cars battery what so ever. If it really worries you though there is thread some where around here about wiring the transponder so that it turns on and off with the on and off switch of the car.

Mini-Me-Zee
2009.01.30, 11:35 AM
Ok, thanks for your input, x_zminiracer. That gives me confidence :)

PridgeoK
2009.01.31, 09:32 PM
Hi Dan,

I concur with x_zminiracer's assesment that the transponders use an incredibly small amount of power. Draining power won't be a concern.