PDA

View Full Version : Track Design thoughts

ProfoxCG
2009.02.10, 11:05 AM
I know everyone is into the RCP track because of their great grip and specially modularity, easy transport, storage and such.

I feel however that a track system such a RCP while very convinitent seem to constrain, or dictate the flow of the track; shape and form (yes I am an architect/designer).

My question is: why is it that in europe, clubs are more inclined to build tracks from scratch such as Vitora and La Factoria in spain, as well as other tracks such as the 2008 Atomic cup. - Could it be a cost factor? or is it that they have realized the above mentioned point in regards to RCP.

I myself have been designing a track layout, Im exploring modulatiry, expandablity and entertaining the idead of it being something like the ATM WC (08) in terms of materials (carpet or some painted surface)

As a result, I have some questions pending: What would be a good lane width, considering there could be 4 (mini-z) cars on the track, or 4 (Dnanos).
Currently my drawings show 22" clear beween barriers, and a 18'-0" main straight.

What type of motors could I run with and 18' straight and a tight inflied ect?
insight welcome =)

Skv012a
2009.02.10, 12:45 PM
Thats why I invested in 2x2x0.5 gym foam tiles. Cheap, not in $200 packs, cut/shape however since there's no stress in killing a few and replacing a few. My only question is whether or not I can, sand/etc, the non-foam surface to level it and emulate RCP better.

My personal plans for this direction are either various width areas or just a togue-like, 2-3 car widths track to race and drift on. When I get time and some more $ I'll try something and post my results.

RCPMini-z
2009.02.10, 02:05 PM