PDA

View Full Version : Motors for ASF 2.4 chassis...


Chicken Little
2009.02.26, 07:57 PM
Can anyone please list down the motors that can be used without adding FETS on the ASF 2.4 chassis. Motors that don't fry the board because it's too much to handle. I hear a lot of different things but I would like to know what others think. Thanks in advance.

Traveler
2009.02.26, 08:03 PM
I have run all PN and Atomic motors on ASF chassis with no issues. Just make sure you have a smooth drivetrain.

Skv012a
2009.02.26, 08:04 PM
ANYTHING that is 40 turns or more is 100% safe. Use atomicmods for reference since they carry a great selection AND bother listing the damn stats of products they carry (let alone manufacturers lacking their own info coughpncough).

From homework I did, that lets you use ALOT of high-torque 35k(maybe 39, not sure) RPM motors from mod class. And you'd only need a small FET upgrade to use 30+ turn motors.

Chicken Little
2009.02.26, 08:06 PM
Would any of the Atomic Evolution motors be safe i.e. Stock-R or Chili?

Skv012a
2009.02.26, 08:22 PM
Stock-R should be, Chili may not be. Again, goto AM and check stats.

EMU
2009.02.26, 08:28 PM
I used the ATM Chili and PNWC 33t without a problem...

color01
2009.02.26, 08:59 PM
I use a 31t spiral handwound and the FETs don't even get warm... the 3010 are pretty darn nice in a 2x2 stack. :)

Chicken Little
2009.02.26, 10:42 PM
Thanks for everyone's input. I'm looking into getting the Stock-R.

Skv012a
2009.02.26, 11:10 PM
So then 2.4s simple eat up EVERYTHING? Dang guys, sounds great. Just for clarification, since its 2x2, whats the next stack: 2x3 or 3x2?

CristianTabush
2009.02.27, 12:03 AM
Yes, it has been commented before that the boards pretty much take any motor that is readily available in the market, the listing at Atomic Mods was done predominantly by myself in the "FETting" days. Manufacturers used to say that a 2x3 was necessary, when all that was ever needed was a 2x2 of 4562 or equivalent. With the new boards, the reason why you would FET a car would be just to get a bit more punch over the stock FETs, but the difference is hardly noticeable...

Skv012a
2009.02.27, 02:27 PM
So 3010s = 4562s in today's terms? And those 8xxx FETs are like the next step up? What about 1x2(or is it 2x1) of 8xxx FETs- how would it compare to 3010s?

edhchoe
2009.03.28, 11:43 AM
Yes, it has been commented before that the boards pretty much take any motor that is readily available in the market, the listing at Atomic Mods was done predominantly by myself in the "FETting" days. Manufacturers used to say that a 2x3 was necessary, when all that was ever needed was a 2x2 of 4562 or equivalent. With the new boards, the reason why you would FET a car would be just to get a bit more punch over the stock FETs, but the difference is hardly noticeable...
My f1 car came with a 3010 board from the factory. Does that mean I can use any motor that says I need 2x3 without adding any FET? That would be great since I don't have good soldering skills yet.

Traveler
2009.03.28, 11:45 AM
Is it an AM or 2.4 Ghz board?

hrdrvr
2009.03.28, 12:26 PM
selection AND bother listing the damn stats of products they carry (let alone manufacturers lacking their own info coughpncough).

FWIW, PNRacing.com has almost all the stats for most all of the PN motors.


Thanks for everyone's input. I'm looking into getting the Stock-R.

The Stock-R is a good strong motor with lits of tourque. It runs well o nthe stock 2.4 IMO. I run it geared for top end on my AWD and 2wd cars, and have no problems over long runs.


My f1 car came with a 3010 board from the factory. Does that mean I can use any motor that says I need 2x3 without adding any FET? That would be great since I don't have good soldering skills yet.

Traveler is on the right road asking about wether its 2.4 or AM. The recent AM cars came with 3010s, but only a single layer. You have to be a lot more careful about what motors you choose to run. The 2.4 cars come with a layer on top, and a layer on the bottom of the board. I think this also aids in their efficiency, as they tend to run cooler than a standard stack where the bottom FET is trapped.

As far as I know the F1s have only been released as AM, so my reccomendation would be, dont run any motors that reccomend a 2x3 stack :D

EMU
2009.03.28, 12:34 PM
As far as I know the F1s have only been released as AM, so my reccomendation would be, dont run any motors that reccomend a 2x3 stack :D

I am going to agree with him, and state... that I really dont think you need that much speed with the F1 chassis.

With a Speedy 07 or an Atomic stock... There is already more speed than you need with those motors.

edhchoe
2009.03.28, 01:52 PM
Thanks for the clarification. But I don't understand why f1's don't need faster motors than the stock motors...