PDA

View Full Version : Setup help, new to the 015!

babstar
2009.08.06, 06:03 PM
Hi Guys,

Any body have good tips to keep a MR015 from flipping in the corners? I'm new to the 015 and don't know much about its setup for RCP yet. Here is some info

Cassis: Stock 015 ASF, only bearings and carbon H-plate (mid). Stock motor.

Body: Skyline R32 (Unisia Jecs) offset: F+1 R-1, I guess

Tires: F Kyosho Slick 30's, R Kyosho Slick 20's

Type of surface: RCP, the less grippy side.

The biggest problem at the moment is the flipping. Anybody have the same experience with the 015? Any tips to help the handeling in general are also welcome.

Thx.

EMU
2009.08.06, 06:18 PM
Try to put a little superglue on the outside sidewall of the front tires. This will help drastically with the flipping. After that, try to lower the car a bit.

A disc damper really helps a lot. Use somewhat thick grease to slow down the reaction.

Skv012a
2009.08.06, 09:15 PM
Honestly there are only 2 approaches:
-Use wide stance bodies. If you don't have a narrow soul like myself, this will be your best options.
-Drive very carefully such that you wouldn't flip. You won't be able to gun the car as much as an 02, but you'll get 5-10 gram of an advantage in weight.

ianc
2009.08.06, 10:12 PM
EMU and SKV have it right. If you are traction rolling, you can either turn in less agressively, widen your stance, or lower your center of gravity. Or some combination of the three.

Since turning in less agressively is usually not an option if you want to stay competitive, work towards lowering your CG.

If you don't mind running a different body which uses wider offset wheels, you can try that also, but that will increase the front wheels' scrub radius and make handling less responsive. That doesn't necessarily have to be a bad thing however. Modifying the 015 chassis with EMU's front end which increases the track width to 02 specs could also be an option for you if you dislike increased scrub.