PDA

View Full Version : Optimum setup for RCP Track

RFick73
2010.01.13, 10:01 PM
Hey all.

This is my first post so please disregard my ignorance.

I am VERY newb to Mini-Z (Like 1 week+) I have gone out to only 1 race so far with my car.
I heard about this class from my LHS, went out to a race, and ordered my own like the same day. I put in a bit of research and decided to go with the MR-03 as it was the newest and for me, the best feature was it used ANY body you relly wanted to put on it.

Out of approx 8 races I placed a consistent 2nd against hopped up and stock MR-02's and just behind a very hopped up AWD.

I'm out to have fun and all, but what should I change to try to get up to that #1 spot? Again, I am very new to Mini-Z.

I'd like to stick to Atomic parts as that's what my LHS stocks in abundance.
But, I am willing to venture out of that supplier to others as well, but I really prefer to support my LHS.

We mainly race on the textured side of 50cm RCP Track.
I'm actually gunna get myself one set of it to practice with at home. (Can you tell I'm hooked?)

I realize I really need to put in my time to just learn to drive this thing & luckily my LHS has a small setup in their shop so I plan on putting a few hours into it as I have 4 sets of batteries. =)

Any suggestions and or any links to other posts or sites I should read through to help me better my performance would also be appreciated.

Thanx in advance!

-Ryan

color01
2010.01.13, 10:37 PM
That kind of thing highly depends on where you race. Is it a large or small layout? What kind of motors are you guys running? What are your car's current specifications? Many things you need to factor in before we can even begin to help you out. ;)

I would switch out the Diablo body for something else though. The McLaren F1 LM (the older, narrow one) is an excellent 98mm body for smaller tracks, and the 2008 GT500 GT-R is a good one for large layouts.