PDA

View Full Version : Question About Pulsar 2 Competition D-Peak


SPANKY
2010.03.29, 06:08 PM
wanted to know whats a good setting for the d peak?I charge with pn tray linear setting.Regular charge is 1amp but then peak my batteries at 2 amps before i race.So what about the D Peak setting?

dvsstrike
2010.03.29, 06:12 PM
set it at the lowest setting. you do not need the extra heat in the cells. the lowest is a t 5mv anyways which is pretty good.the higher it goes the more it slighly over charges them

SPANKY
2010.03.29, 06:18 PM
oh ok.I have had my settings to 30mv for the d peak.could this setting cause shorter run time for lets say 10 minute race?

MikeL
2010.03.29, 06:33 PM
oh ok.I have had my settings to 30mv for the d peak.could this setting cause shorter run time for lets say 10 minute race?

yes, continually overcharging will kill runtime. Get a set or two just for the mains, charge them from dead and try and time it to finish just before you run, this will get the most runtime.

dvsstrike
2010.03.29, 06:42 PM
30mv :eek: thats what i use on my 10th scale packs.yes it could cause slow run times and life. also are you discharging your cells? also constant over charging is bad and can kill your cells.

SPANKY
2010.03.29, 06:48 PM
lol.Yeh i think thats my problem.Lately i dont last 10 min.I'll try that.I'll change the setting to 5mv.Thanks guys for the help.

Davey G
2010.03.30, 08:30 AM
Some chargers have different math for there peak thresholds. The LRP chargers use the whole pack as a peak threshold value. So if you want to have .5mv as a pack... .20mv would be what you would use. Some chargers use the threshold as a single cell rating which gets confusing.

JuniorWKR
2010.03.30, 10:53 AM
davey is right... i had that problem a couple of times... spanky make sure you check the manual to find out what the charger is reading the batteries at... a single cell as it does the math itsself or if you have to do the math and set the mv as a pack....

with my imax charger i indiviually peak each cell as the charger comes with four individual bays... so i set the mv at 5 for the cell....