PDA

View Full Version : Help with AWD racing setup

rajiex
2010.04.21, 10:32 AM
I am new to mini zs. I got a AWD that is a great difter but know I want to set the car up to race in a narrow class. I got 1.5 knuckles and white springs in the front. 2.0 knuckles and green springs in the rear. Almost all aluminum and TAR diffs. Geared 19/27. I just cant seem to get good braking on release of the trigger. Also the car doesnt want to rotate in a turn it just slides into turns making me loose the line I want. My Mr-03 and Mr-02 are killing this car in laps.

Any suggestion will help.

EMU
2010.04.21, 11:50 AM
What tires are you using? What body are you using/wheelbase and offsets used for this body? What motor? Do you have the ICS adapter, so you can adust the virtual inertia?

When you say almost all aluminum, what parts are aluminum? Having a lot of alloy in the wrong places can make the cars handling go down. I like my AWD's as light as I can keep them. I use as much plastic as I can...

Tires and diff settings make the biggest difference with how the AWD handles. How are your differentials adjusted, I like the front relatively loose, and the rear pretty tight. I can then drive it similar to a 2wd, without fear of spinning out.

Your springs and camber sound fine. Is the ride height flat, or is one end lower than the other?

rajiex
2010.04.21, 12:06 PM
EMU,

Front cover, rear of car, tie rods, heat sink are all aluminum. PN X-Speed AWD and I believe PN 6 in the front.

philly123
2010.04.21, 11:00 PM
I found that kyosho 20 wide slicks in the rear, pn 10s in the front, 2deg front canber, 3deg rear camber works very well. Not sure if the front is 8s or 10s bc i know pn mixed them up at one point.