PDA

View Full Version : Urethane Clearcoat and Tamiya TS paint

WSR
2010.06.19, 12:20 PM
I apologize if this question was already asked but when it comes to paint it seems like going to medical school would be easier than understanding which different paint combinations can go together haha.

Here is a little background before I ask my question.

I am painting my first mini z white body, a Ferrari F430. I am using German Grey Tamiya TS spray. I am going for the ultimate wet/shiny look and will use clearcoat to do this. When talking to guys at the hobby shop they told me to use automotive clear to get the best finish.

So I went to the guys at Gavin's Autobody Supply in Paterson NJ, and tried to see what I can find. Let me put a disclaimer here and just say that I am a total newbie to painting and I literally know nothing about the differences between acrylic's,enamels, and urethanes, but I am learning.

I brought the painted body with me but I didnt know at the time that TS sprays are synthetic Lacquer. The guys at Gavins told me if I want that super shiny wet look without wet sanding and polishing I should use Urethane clear. I bought this stuff for $20 in a rattle can called "U-Pol Clear #1"

Finally heres my question:

Can I use this urethane clear coat to clear Tamiya TS synthetic Lacquer without having a negative reaction to the basecoat? On the Tamiya site it says that "Tamiya Spray Paints are not affected by acrylic or enamel paints" What about the Urethane Clear that I got and is there a difference? Please help and again I am going for a super shiny finish but keep in mind I plan on racing the body so it has to be able to hold up against hits from other cars because I SUUUUUUUCK as a driver but I am getting better. At least thats what I keep telling myself.

As always I appreciate your wisdom and advice.

Faze
2010.06.19, 04:30 PM