PDA

View Full Version : core not counting after 1st lap


reaper
2010.07.17, 01:20 PM
just got a second hand core system and after a bit of messing got it hooked up and sort of working
first i had trouble getting it to read the rfid tags (core branded)
but now the problem is after 1 lap the tags dont register anymore laps and no more tags can be added unless i restart the program :confused:

arch2b
2010.07.17, 05:12 PM
have you tested the unit with the core software? just thinking of things to check before linking the error to flipside.

reaper
2010.07.17, 05:19 PM
i have been unable to get the core software to even load up , it flicks on the small "core" blue screen but never actually starts up

i have managed to get the counter working a little more with the flipside software but its as though the port closes after a shotr time

arch2b
2010.07.17, 06:07 PM
if core software is not opening, it is indicative of a bigger issue with your unit and or the usb ports you are using. that sounds like the place to start.

reaper
2010.07.18, 03:29 AM
ok so now im stuck , im not that technically minded as far as computers go and i sort of expected the lap counter and software to be plug and play

do any you guys have a link to the core software ? i would like to re-install and see if that works

or any other ideas on what may be a solution

i have tried it on a vista laptop in 3 different ports and an xp notebook

thanks for all your help so far :)

pinwc4
2010.07.18, 07:01 PM
ok so now im stuck , im not that technically minded as far as computers go and i sort of expected the lap counter and software to be plug and play

do any you guys have a link to the core software ? i would like to re-install and see if that works

or any other ideas on what may be a solution

i have tried it on a vista laptop in 3 different ports and an xp notebook

thanks for all your help so far :)

I can not help you much on the Core software side of things but I can help with the Flip Side stuff.

Send me an email through the forum so we can figure this out.

Just for starters make sure you have the antenna for the lap counter placed correctly. I always use the wide side of an 8.5" x 11" sheet of paper for reference for the antenna, make it slightly wider than that.

I imagine you already know this but the first thing you have to do is register the racers in the program. You do this before running a race. Sit the car to register above the lap counter and click the scan button on the Edit Racers screen. Do this for each racers car. If it is intermittent picking up cars during this step then it may be a lap counter antenna or Core tag placement.

If you have the small Core tags, ~38mm x 23mm, then you may need to experiment a little with placement to get a good signal strength. Sometimes you even need to move the Core lap counter antenna, especially if there is something under the floor like metal piping or ducting that can interfere. Though if restarting the software get's it to detect again I doubt this is the case.

How old is this lap counter? I found out about a second variation recently that I am working on proper support for.

Since this Core software is not working as well I will probably send you a link to a debug program that may give me a better idea of what is going on. I have 1 more piece I want to add to it but after that I will send you the link.

arch2b
2010.07.18, 07:58 PM
there are at least 2 versions of the core unit out. the copper loop and the black jacket loop.

fyi, core will still make units if a min. qnty can be orderd although i don't knwo what that qnty is. i've confirmed this with Michael.

pinwc4
2010.07.18, 08:20 PM
there are at least 2 versions of the core unit out. the copper loop and the black jacket loop.

fyi, core will still make units if a min. qnty can be orderd although i don't knwo what that qnty is. i've confirmed this with Michael.

I had thought there was only two as well but now we know there are at least three. A more recent version has the black antenna but uses a different rfid module. The atomic group in Singapore has this version and it does not work with the official version of the flip side software. I suspect that you probably need a very specific version of the core software as well. If you have this version of the hardware the lap counter will stop working after a little while and you will have to restart the software for it to work again.

I am adding logic to my debug program so I can tell which version of the hardware a person has.

If you look inside the lap counter this newer version uses an infinity 166 module instead of the ti s6350.

arch2b
2010.07.18, 08:29 PM
excellent info and good to know :)

reaper
2010.07.19, 05:52 PM
I had thought there was only two as well but now we know there are at least three. A more recent version has the black antenna but uses a different rfid module. The atomic group in Singapore has this version and it does not work with the official version of the flip side software. I suspect that you probably need a very specific version of the core software as well. If you have this version of the hardware the lap counter will stop working after a little while and you will have to restart the software for it to work again.

I am adding logic to my debug program so I can tell which version of the hardware a person has.

If you look inside the lap counter this newer version uses an infinity 166 module instead of the ti s6350.

this is exactly what its doing , maybe 40 or 50 seconds untill it seems to turn off ( wont read any rfid or laps )
i have downloaded the tester and emailed you the results ....lets hope that works
if you want me to find out the type of board it has just let me know

i would like to thank everyone again for all your help "first class community" :)

briankstan
2010.07.19, 07:57 PM
if the core software isn't starting up than it isn't seeing the hardware. if the screen just splashes up and then disappears than something else it going on.

I have the latest version of the core software. (Unless they released another version since Kyosho purchased the rights).

you can down load it here.

Core software (https://www.saltlakemini-z.com/admin/Core_software/New_version/core-install.exe)

pinwc4
2010.07.20, 05:15 PM
After working a little more with Reaper I have confirmed that they do in fact have this 3rd variety of the Core lap counter that uses the Infinity 166 module.

I have sent them a new build to try out. By working with them and the Atomic Collective I hope to have communication with this variant of the Core hardware sorted out soon.

briankstan
2010.07.20, 10:03 PM
After working a little more with Reaper I have confirmed that they do in fact have this 3rd variety of the Core lap counter that uses the Infinity 166 module.

I have sent them a new build to try out. By working with them and the Atomic Collective I hope to have communication with this variant of the Core hardware sorted out soon.

good to hear