PDA

View Full Version : Preview - 2 Hour Sprint Race

kwsmith29
2010.09.01, 09:41 PM
Alright guys...

Vicky and I have been throwing this idea around for a few years now. Several years ago we ran a 45min. One driver, no crew, non stop, wide open race.

Well, we want to do a 2 hour event. Same deal. One driver, no crew, non stop, wide open. Better get your rest. We want to do this on a Saturday. Track opens for practice 9am in the morning. Open qualifing from 10:30 to 11:30. 10min. last chance qualifier at 11:50. Lunch and then the 2 hour sprint race starts at 1:00pm.

The idea is to start 17 or so cars. The top 15 qualify on time and then the final two spots from the LCQ. Yup, you heard me 17 cars on one track for 2 hours. Now of course we wont be running a set up quite as tight as our current track layout. We would like to run our AMB system, I belive we have enough trasnponders and hook ups to help everyone out. We would love to pull a few MBMZR and some other racers in. This could be a lot of fun.

This will be a stock 70 turn GT2 event.

Maybe do a $5 qualifing charge and then $10 for those who make the show. We have some younger guys who would marshall for a small tip or fee. Plus I'm sure we'll have some non qualifiers hanging around to watch the action.

Give me some input tell me what you think..

Wade

chad508
2010.09.02, 11:52 AM
im game. just let me know when

kwsmith29
2010.09.07, 07:35 AM
Looks like the date is going to be Saturday, September 18. I know thats less than two weeks away. The only other option would be early in October, but there's already a lot of racing going on that month.

Whos in?

hrdrvr
2010.09.07, 07:46 AM
Wade, I'd love to make it, but don't know how much racing Ill be able to get in between now and the PN race. We just had a new baby, and I don't know how long it'll be before I can leave Sarah with double trouble :D