PDA

View Full Version : Whats the difference between these 2??

s.gaspar
2010.11.21, 11:17 PM
hello everyone im new here and have been wanting a mini-z for a while and now im planning to get started in this hobby. I have been searching ebay for a kit but am a lil confused between the mr-010 mr-015 mr-020 and mr-030. anyways i found these 2 on ebay for a pretty cheap price but not sure if there is a difference between the 2 besides the body it comes with.
here is one
http://cgi.*******om/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=360316902047&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT
and here is the other
http://cgi.*******om/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=380188936940&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

thanks for any help i really appreciate it, like i said im just getting into this hobby so still not for sure on everything, but so far these 2 seem to be the cheapest for me to get into this... thanks again for any help

EMU
2010.11.22, 12:27 AM
Welcome to the forums :)

The first link is an iSeries MR015, the second is a standard AM MR015. The iSeries cars have inferior electronics to the standard AM, but operate on the same frequencies. iSeries was an attempt to cut costs and produce an entry level car with a lower price point.

The MR015 has since been discontinued, and replaced with the MR03. The MR03 has the same chassis width, and the track can be adjusted from wide (MR02 width) to narrow (MR015 width) to accomodate bodies. The MR015 track with is 5mm narrower than the MR02. I produced a conversion tower bar set to use an MR02 width front end for the MR015 to use wider bodies.

I would recommend getting a 2.4ghz ASF car, with appropriate controller. The AM cars are good, but tend to glitch a bit and you have to make sure that you are the only one using a certain frequency changed by a crystal.

If you are planning to play with them here and there, an AM car would be more than fine. If you plan to race on a track, I would recommend ASF.