PDA

View Full Version : Are aluminum parts worth the upgrade?

mdowney
2010.12.20, 04:54 AM
I have picked up a bunch of PN aluminum parts but I'm hesitating to install them because I'm worried about weight. Do the fast guys run aluminum parts? Are they worth it or just bling?

I'm just starting out and running a stock MR-03 US Spec kit on large RCP track, in case that factors in.

Racer-HH
2010.12.20, 10:54 AM
First off, alu parts look niiiccceee! :D

Performance wise it is a fair point, that they add weight to the chassis. But this is not neccessarily a bad thing, especially if you run hot motors.

In my opinion motor mounts and knuckles are a must have in aluminium, where as parts like battery clips are a no-go for me.

In general: just look out at your track what other people are using and tune step by step, so you have a comparison what changed and what you like.

hrdrvr
2010.12.20, 11:12 AM
For me, if I can get a plastic part to work, then I use it. Some plastic things like motor mounts just don't perform as well. They arent as stiff where a DDS or top shock would mount, and proper gear mesh is difficult.

yasuji
2010.12.20, 12:47 PM
I have picked up a bunch of PN aluminum parts but I'm hesitating to install them because I'm worried about weight. Do the fast guys run aluminum parts? Are they worth it or just bling?

I'm just starting out and running a stock MR-03 US Spec kit on large RCP track, in case that factors in.

there is very little stock plastic parts that i use on my cars...mr02 or mro3..
kyosho chassis,kyosho chassis small parts kit, and mr02 front spring cups/stroke limiters everything else is pnr parts
i dont care as much how they look... it is how they perform!

dxm2
2010.12.20, 02:52 PM
Aluminum knuckles and Motor mounts are "essentials" for MR02 and MR03 cars for me. Those the first parts to be replaced.
Also for MR03, I like the aluminum front suspension arms, but I hear the Reflex and Atomic plastic arms are fine.