PDA

View Full Version : Novak Discharge Tray SE


Kevin S.
2011.01.09, 01:22 AM
I recently got the Novak Discharge Tray SE and I was wondering what people set their cut-off voltage at when discharging their batteries using this product. Any help and information is greatly appreciated as I am new to discharging batteries. Thanks in advance.

bermbuster
2011.01.09, 07:40 AM
I recently got the Novak Discharge Tray SE and I was wondering what people set their cut-off voltage at when discharging their batteries using this product. Any help and information is greatly appreciated as I am new to discharging batteries. Thanks in advance.
.5 volts if you use .9 (standard) you will find the aaa s dont fully discharge.

JuniorWKR
2011.01.09, 10:12 AM
.5 for stock... .7 for mod... i find it makes a differnce in run time... george is correct though i find the .9 is not enough...

Kevin S.
2011.01.09, 01:12 PM
Thank you very much Berm and Junior for such quick responses. I have another question that hopefully you guys might be able to help me with. I discharged the batteries at .5 and I took them off the discharger and put them in my Lacrosse BC9009 charger right away to just see what the reading would be. On the lacrosse charger I got a reading of anywhere between 1.2 v to 1.25 v. Does that sound correct or is it possible that I am doing something wrong? I waited for all of the lights to go out on the discharger tray so I don't think I did anything wrong there but who knows.
I didn't charge the batteries yet because I read somewhere that you should let the cells rest before you recharge them again. I just did it to see what kind of reading I was going to get after discharging the cells.

EMU
2011.01.09, 06:16 PM
Kevin, when the batteries rest, they will go back up in voltage again. The more current drain on the cells, the lower the voltage will go. At 3A, the voltage will drop more than 1A, which is why you typically get less capacity when you discharge at 3A than you do at 1A.

Depending on the purpose, I usually use .9v for standard discharge, .7v for full discharge. And if I have a pack partially used, I will do 1.1v just to balance before I charge them back up. If any go off immediately (meaning that the cell is less than the cutoff voltage already), then I lower it to 1v and let the cells balance.

Kevin S.
2011.01.10, 12:44 AM
Kevin, when the batteries rest, they will go back up in voltage again. The more current drain on the cells, the lower the voltage will go. At 3A, the voltage will drop more than 1A, which is why you typically get less capacity when you discharge at 3A than you do at 1A.

Depending on the purpose, I usually use .9v for standard discharge, .7v for full discharge. And if I have a pack partially used, I will do 1.1v just to balance before I charge them back up. If any go off immediately (meaning that the cell is less than the cutoff voltage already), then I lower it to 1v and let the cells balance.

Thanks Eugene. Do you use the hold function on the Discharger? If so, how long do you keep them in the "hold" function before you take the batteries off of the discharger?

EMU
2011.01.10, 01:13 PM
I dont know if the hold function is on... I never read the instructions :rolleyes:

Kevin S.
2011.01.10, 01:22 PM
I dont know if the hold function is on... I never read the instructions :rolleyes:

Lol Eugene...When you put the Discharger into the "Hold" Function and the batteries finish discharging, the lights do not go off like they normally would. Instead they will blink rapidly and the discharger will make a beeping noise every so often until you take the batteries off. I am not sure what the reason is to use the hold function though.

bermbuster
2011.01.10, 06:07 PM
Lol Eugene...When you put the Discharger into the "Hold" Function and the batteries finish discharging, the lights do not go off like they normally would. Instead they will blink rapidly and the discharger will make a beeping noise every so often until you take the batteries off. I am not sure what the reason is to use the hold function though.

the hold function will keep the cells at that state of discharge....
sorta like a trickle charge....but it keeps the cell at the cut off voltage you set....

Kevin S.
2011.01.10, 07:03 PM
the hold function will keep the cells at that state of discharge....
sorta like a trickle charge....but it keeps the cell at the cut off voltage you set....

Thanks Berm... Is there any reason in particular you would use that function if you are not supposed to charge batteries again right away after discharging them? Sorry for all the questions as this is all very new to me...

JuniorWKR
2011.01.10, 07:24 PM
i would discharge them again right before charging them just to equalize them... use the hold function to keep the batteries there for a few mins then throw them right on the charger at 1 amp... let sit and hit them at a 3 amp peak right before your race... you should get a nice amount of punch outta them if the batteries are still fresh... this will also keep the internal resistance down which equates to more punch as the power will get outta the cells faster...

bermbuster
2011.01.10, 09:24 PM
Thanks Berm... Is there any reason in particular you would use that function if you are not supposed to charge batteries again right away after discharging them? Sorry for all the questions as this is all very new to me...

maybe all your cells dont discharge to the level you set at the same time....
so the smart tray keeps em all the same. Now when you charge them they all start at the same point and hopefully peak at the same time.

Think of it this way your training your batteries to behave in a manner that will win races.....:cool:

most of the time you can see the cells performing the same and when you get that one thats a poor performer....swap it out....otherwise your overall pack will only be as good as that poor performing cell.

Kevin S.
2011.01.11, 11:25 AM
Berm, Junior, and Eugene, thank you for all of your help and input with this topic.