PDA

View Full Version : How do I use the PN charging trays?

mdowney
2011.01.27, 05:39 PM
Simple, likely stupid question prompted largely by the product photo on Kenon's site:
http://www.pnracing.us/new/product_image/353_4.jpg

When you link the charging trays together for a charge do you *just* slide the trays together into their grooves or do you also need to run electrical leads to their +/- inputs? Looking at the grooves that they slide together with I don't see any electrical contacts so I'm wondering how that would work.

Related to that, I'm going to try charging 8 batts using two trays linked together and one of the two outputs on my Hyperion 615i Duo3. I have no experience using this charger for anything other than LiPos. When I switch it to NiMH battery type do I also set it to 8 cells (8S, 9.6V pack)? I think the answer is yes.

Thanks!

cowboysir
2011.01.27, 05:48 PM
Im guessing (from experience with other inline charging units) that you are essentially creating a 9.6volt pack.

Run the positive from one tray, the negative from the other tray to leads for your charger. Connect the open leads (that arent leading to your charger) to each other and you have a 9.6 volt pack.

This will work well for bulk charging but will not balance your individual cells. It will only charge the pack of cells to the lowest MAh cell in the group.

If youre like me (running group races with loaner cars) its works great to have this setup...I have 27packs of cells that I usually have to keep cycling through a days racing for my loaner cars.

mdowney
2011.01.27, 05:54 PM
Yeah, my instinct was to do + to one tray and - to the other, then connect the two remaining inputs - however, PN's photo that I posted above seems to suggest otherwise.

Some simple directions on their website would be nice. :D

I-Lap
2011.01.27, 06:09 PM
That is probably not a good idea.