PDA

View Full Version : Mini-Z = Great training for other scales

SAGISI
2011.02.09, 02:03 PM
I have been driving mini-z's for about 4 years now. Got really into it when I got a MR03 for my Christmas gift in 2009 (thanks to my gf). Practice/race mini-z on average about 4 times a week. I am very fortunate to have 2 track that are very close to me.

I recently purchased a 12th scale pan car because local drivers said it was just like Mini-z but 100 times more dialed. Our local track (NorCal Hobbies) just installed a new carpet track that looked just like the ones in Europe and that sold me.
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y208/dorifto-san4o8/norcaltrack.jpg

Got my car running just a week before NorCal's points series race. First race with the car with only 10 minutes of practice I was able to finish 2nd in the Amain. Everyone was right that if felt just like a big mini z but more dialed! I even had time to think about what I wanted for lunch going down the back straight away:D. I felt right at home driving the 12th scale and was able to keep up with some of the fastest racers here in NorCal. Norcal Hobbies is a little to far for me to go during the week to practice. So during the week I just practiced mini-z and on Saturday just went out for the points series race and hoped for the best.

Here's a video of one of the points series race (my car is the teal/blue/white/yellow starting 2nd on the grid):
http://youtu.be/oHsEpUuIKbg

After 6 races coming into 12th scale as a total Noob I finally got a first place finish on the last race of the points series. I was able to win the series with a 4th, two 2nd and a 1st place finish. All thanks to mini-z racing!
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y208/dorifto-san4o8/norcalrace002.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y208/dorifto-san4o8/norcalrace001.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y208/dorifto-san4o8/norcalrace003.jpg