PDA

View Full Version : Giro Z PCB Broken.


ScoobyPete
2011.02.11, 04:41 AM
Hi I hope you can help.

We have a Giroz and a few nights ago it stopped working.
We have traced the fault to a fuse on the PCB and would send it back for repair but I will be honest and say this we have repaired a different problem ourselves in the past, we managed to break the small USB connector on the PCB when someone tripped on the wire :( so this probably means its no longer under Guarantee.

Do you know what the specs of the fuse next to the USB connector so we can fix it?

http://memberfiles.freewebs.com/77/47/38974777/photos/fets/pcb%20gyro%20z.JPG

Many Thanks.

zround
2011.02.11, 11:11 AM
No, I don't. I'm sorry but I don't have technical details about the decoder :(.

I hope you get it working soon. Regards,

Jesus.

ScoobyPete
2011.02.11, 11:32 AM
Thanks Jesus
Well I think we’ll have to bridge the fuse with some wire and take a reading of the ampage and get a fuse with a bit larger tolerance, hopefully that will work (Fingers Crossed).

I-Lap
2011.02.11, 01:12 PM
Maximum current draw on a USB port is 500ma (.5 amps).
I don't know the specs for that unit, but I can't imagine it draws more than 200 ma. The PC should cut power to the port if it exceeds the maximum or detects a short anyway.

That said, a blown fuse is not a fault, it is the result of a fault.
Check all your wiring, especially at the connector ends of the sensor cables.