PDA

View Full Version : Wich magnet on pnmotors


bompie
2011.03.04, 12:58 AM
Hi
I wonder what kind of magnets it is on pnmotors. Are all neo or ?
Im galning about the new ones 32-80t

Bompie

Felix2010
2011.03.04, 01:49 AM
The PN 50t and up use PN regular-size Industry-standard size Isotropic FERRITE magnets. :)

The PN 43t and down (43t, 39t, 33t, 32t) use PN Standard-size NEO magnets.:D

bompie
2011.03.04, 01:53 AM
Thx for the help

rock hard
2011.09.28, 03:46 PM
The PN 50t and up use PN regular-size Industry-standard size Isotropic FERRITE magnets. :)

The PN 43t and down (43t, 39t, 33t, 32t) use PN Standard-size NEO magnets.:D

are the arms of the 50t the same as the 43 and lower,diam,length,ect???

in other words,could you swap the arms out,puting your 50t,70,80 arm into a
neo magnet motor?

EMU
2011.09.28, 04:59 PM
You can use the Neo magnets with those armatures, but except for crawling it wouldnt be very useful. There would be more torque, but much less RPM.

rock hard
2011.09.28, 05:41 PM
You can use the Neo magnets with those armatures, but except for crawling it wouldnt be very useful. There would be more torque, but much less RPM.

true that,just curious what you can getr away with.

In 540,I've found nothing that wont swap out

in 280 sized motors not all arms are combatable
for example
reedt mini mod motors and trinity mini cobalts
the cans have the same deminsions
the endbells are interchangable

But
the arms are not,the reedy has a larger diam arm and thinner magnets
its larger arm will not fit into a cobalt can cuz the cobalts have a thicker magnet
(cobalts do not have cobalts magnets)

The cobalt arm will fit into the reeedy,but wont work cuz the gap between arm and magnet is to great.

I have alot of stuff coming,though mostly all xmod (around 6-7 cars) and lots of parts

I do have 2 mini-z comming also,and will get a chance soon to start opening stuff up:)

LED
2011.09.29, 11:17 AM
Are you guys sure the 80T also uses normal magnets?
Because it has alot less RPM then the 70T but alot of torque.

EMU
2011.09.29, 11:46 AM
To see what magnets are used in a motor, I hold the motor against a bunch of AAA NIMH cells. If the motor can pick up only one cell, it is a weaker magnet. Neo magnets can typically pick up 3 cells. I am 99% sure that 80t uses ferrite magnets, low RPM and high torque is due to the increase in winds on the armature.

Dimensionally, there are slight differences in the cans that were used 4-5 years ago, and the ones we use today. The armatures were a little longer, and cannot easily fit the more modern cans.

blt456
2011.09.29, 08:01 PM
Are you guys sure the 80T also uses normal magnets?
Because it has alot less RPM then the 70T but alot of torque.

Yes, the PN 80t uses ferrite magnets, just like the 70t. I've opened both up and the magnets are the weaker magnets. (not neo)

rock hard
2011.09.29, 10:35 PM
Are you guys sure the 80T also uses normal magnets?
Because it has alot less RPM then the 70T but alot of torque.

all other things being equal...a 80t should have less rpm and more torque than a 70t.

blt456
2011.09.29, 10:50 PM
If you look at PN's website, the 70t motor has 14 more g/cm of torque. I don't think this number is exact for every 70t motor, but I do think the wire is slightly larger than that of the 80t, resulting in less resistance for more power output. (my observations after unwinding a few 70t motors - old and new versions)

rock hard
2011.09.30, 01:10 AM
If you look at PN's website, the 70t motor has 14 more g/cm of torque. I don't think this number is exact for every 70t motor, but I do think the wire is slightly larger than that of the 80t, resulting in less resistance for more power output. (my observations after unwinding a few 70t motors - old and new versions)



Yeah,so many little things play a role

Thats why I say,all thngs being equal the 70 will have more rpm;s the 80 more torque.
usually,unless its a handbuilt motor,different winds of same type motor will share wire size in my experience.

some times,even when testing little things may be different,like load,or voltage,ect.

its nice being able to build,or have motors built to various spec.
IMO the arm should be filled with wire,I want as much saturation as possible.

I will show a pic later of before and after shots of a custom rebuild,gots to find the pics though.

LED
2011.09.30, 01:16 AM
Ok clear answer :)

rock hard
2011.09.30, 01:30 AM
this is a motor I modded,this is how it looked stock,the arm is all but naked at 17t
http://i762.photobucket.com/albums/xx266/crawlermafia/sale063.jpg

here is the arm after being stuffed with 17t of fat wire
http://i762.photobucket.com/albums/xx266/crawlermafia/sale066.jpg

here is another one I did in a 18d just for shts and giggles
http://i762.photobucket.com/albums/xx266/crawlermafia/album%201/crawler%20mafia/blackmarketandahotmilf028.jpg

http://i762.photobucket.com/albums/xx266/crawlermafia/album%201/crawler%20mafia/blackmarketandahotmilf022.jpg

now the stock motor would spool up faster,but its got less rotational mass you can argue.But the torque of the fat pack was way better,and top speed was betetr to,just didint have as much snap right of the top.

rock hard
2011.09.30, 01:40 AM
are the ferrite magnets and neo magnets the same thickness?