PDA

View Full Version : Do I Need to Glue the Tires to the Wheels?

Starsky5000
2011.06.18, 09:43 AM
I am running Kyosho 30 High Grip Tires up front and Wide in the Rear.

Do I need to glue the tires to the wheels?

I am using Kyosho R246 Rays aluminum wheels.

I am running on low pile carpet.

I bought Kyosho glue tire tape for the front and rear tires so I just wanna know if it's important I glue them or just slip on the tires on wheels and i'll be okay.

I'm new to the mini z's so I don't really know what to do? Glue or no glue?

briankstan
2011.06.18, 10:01 AM
use the 2-sided tape. the softer the front tire the more prone they are to coming off.

cowboysir
2011.06.18, 10:02 AM
It kind of depends on how serious you want to be. Sometimes on racing surfaces you can suffer from traction rolling due to the front wheels peeling during cornering, even with tire tape securing the tire to rim.

If you are competitive, it is a performance gain to glue the tires. Check out reflex racing website for a great tutorial on doing tires for racing.

The great thing about alloy rims is that you can remove glued tires without ruining the rim...just an extended soak in hot (almost boiling in some cases) water can loosen the glue to help remove the worn tire.

Good luck with it.;)

Starsky5000
2011.06.18, 10:08 AM
It kind of depends on how serious you want to be. Sometimes on racing surfaces you can suffer from traction rolling due to the front wheels peeling during cornering, even with tire tape securing the tire to rim.

If you are competitive, it is a performance gain to glue the tires. Check out reflex racing website for a great tutorial on doing tires for racing.

The great thing about alloy rims is that you can remove glued tires without ruining the rim...just an extended soak in hot (almost boiling in some cases) water can loosen the glue to help remove the worn tire.

Good luck with it.;)