PDA

View Full Version : Hel please motor on AWD very hot!!!!!

javier668
2011.06.23, 03:50 PM
Hi friends, i'm new in the mini z world, my awd arrives yesterday and hopped the ball bearings, bodyshell and drift tires, but the stock motor runs so hot with 5 minutes of run, i'm using Team Orion cells 900mah 1.25 v.
I think that is no normal, i have other 1:10 cars and the motor never turns so hot as my mini Z.
I'm thinking about change the serie motor for a V stock new i buyed, that can resolve the problem?.
Is normal a hot motor?, i'm using the stock pinion and spur (15 and 31).

Please somebody help me.

Regards!

thestug
2011.06.23, 04:07 PM
Hi friends, i'm new in the mini z world, my awd arrives yesterday and hopped the ball bearings, bodyshell and drift tires, but the stock motor runs so hot with 5 minutes of run, i'm using Team Orion cells 900mah 1.25 v.
I think that is no normal, i have other 1:10 cars and the motor never turns so hot as my mini Z.
I'm thinking about change the serie motor for a V stock new i buyed, that can resolve the problem?.
Is normal a hot motor?, i'm using the stock pinion and spur (15 and 31).

Please somebody help me.

Regards!

I think that the AWD motors do tend to run hot, IMO. I have a X-speed V motor that runs very hot, but I got a heat sink for it and now it runs at a good temp. The AWD motor is very enclosed and has no heat sink, so i would recommend this. A heat sink will also help your chassis from heat warping, so it would be a worthwhile investment. The batteries you use are also pretty good batteries, so this is probably another reason for extra heat. Also try some sort of lubrication on the motor bushings.

javier668
2011.06.23, 04:31 PM