PDA

View Full Version : Newbie recreational owner with spin-out problem

gelshocker
2011.07.27, 02:10 AM
Hi Everyone, Thanks for reading this thread. I have a problem with the tail spinning out everytime I turn, left or right. Appreciate any advise. Apologies if the terminology is a bit off. My settings and terrain as follows, which probably explains why the constant spin out (please try not to snigger :p ):

Readyset MR-02RM

Upgrades made:
- Bearings
- Kyosho King pins
- Kyosho carbon T-plate
- Kyosho nylon nuts
- Pinion 7
- Atomic 10 tires front and back (back radical). Not taped to rims.
- Lume on the top suspension
- SC430 body

Terrain:
- Concrete pavements, bumpy
- Bicycle ring at the kids playground, smooth concrete, not exactly flat, sand in sporadic spots

Basically I'm a newbie Mini-Z owner and use this for recreational purposes when taking my kids to the playground. The kids love it and it makes me appear like I'm actually babysitting and a nice parent (wife approval stamp :p)

I could get a cheapo Tamiya all-in-one at TRU but hey I might as well make this enjoyable for all of us.

Back to the problem: the tail keeps spinning out. My obvious (I think) assumption is the terrain is too slippery, and with the high speed of the Mini-Z it's all too easy to spin out. Plus the fact that my kid is at the controls of the transmitter, and as he only operates the throttle, the throttle is on full constantly. So there I am frantically operating the steering and recovering from spins every 15 seconds. It's fun for the lad but not too much for me, and the small crowd that gathers ("oh the receiver has a problem", "obviously the man can't control the car").

Here's what I'm thinking:

1. The front is too light. If I can get the front down then there'll be more force on the front wheels traction and so the car can make the turn. Solution: Add lead plates (like those you add to tennis racket heads) under the front bonnet.