PDA

View Full Version : Flip Side Racing 12.08 Available


pinwc4
2012.05.11, 01:17 PM
A new version of Flip Side Racing software has been posted for download on http://www.flipsideracing.org/

There are a lot of changes with this release. Amongst them in the program now is translated to German. A huge thank you to Oliver for all the work he did in translating, testing and communicating with other groups on German forums.

Below is a list of the other changes this build brings.

New Features


The program has been translated to German, many thanks to Oliver for all of his work on this.
Added configuration option to set the maximum rank the program will announce during and after a race.
Maximum of 50 racers in a race now allowed.


Changes


During a free play or practice race you can double click the best lap time of a racer to reset their best time.
Minimum row spacing is now -16 to prevent excessive overlap of controls.
Refresh of the race screen slowed down, this will help with CPU usage on some systems.
No longer using custom double buffer for graphics in Windows, using the new built in method for that. This should help with CPU usage.
Various other adjustments to help lower CPU usage.
Added CoreSpeedway? i166 hardware type, this hardware type still needs some work for stability.
Lowered sensitivity of Giro-Z logic to minimize missed laps.
Preferences are stored in the database now.


Bug Fixes


Individual racer colors is now applied to the individual timers in a staggered start race.
Theme manager no longer deletes the theme name from the list in the main program if you alter the currently used theme.
Added logic to prevent triple clicking from deleting 2 racers during a free play or practice race.
Fixed bug that prevented rows from resizing during a race if the row height was automatically set to the lowest height.
Fixed bug that could prevent the report logo from being changed in some cases.
Changed filter mask on email from field that was preventing some people from entering more than 1 character.
Added logic to prevent the end of race routine from running multiple times causing multiple copies of a racer data to be stored and multiple emails sent.

arch2b
2012.05.11, 03:22 PM
do i already have this build or shall i run with this one (build i've been testing at home)? we race tomorrow so i can test the i166 issue however will be sticking with giro-z for the foreseeable future.

pinwc4
2012.05.11, 03:29 PM
do i already have this build or shall i run with this one (build i've been testing at home)? we race tomorrow so i can test the i166 issue however will be sticking with giro-z for the foreseeable future.

This is slightly newer than what you have so go ahead and grab this.

arch2b
2012.05.11, 03:47 PM
excellent. i'll be sure to post an update this weekend.

arch2b
2012.05.12, 05:44 PM
To many issues to note here. I'll email you. Suffice to say it doesn't work reliably with giro-z

pinwc4
2012.05.12, 08:18 PM
To many issues to note here. I'll email you. Suffice to say it doesn't work reliably with giro-z

That is a bummer, though I am not surprised.

I hate to say it but most likely I will just have to drop support for the Giro-Z. The way the lap counter communicates with the computer is really bad. I did my best to try to add support but unless the company provides details I doubt I can make it work better. I had tried to contact the company in the past but they were unwilling to provide the information I need. They did provide a library to handle the communication but it would only work for Windows. I need the details to update my library that is cross platform. And since one of the major goals of my software is to be cross platform I am not willing to make the Giro-Z a Windows only feature.

I also spoke with Jesus who makes Zround to get more information. And while he was very friendly and provided what he knew he uses the library I mentioned above that is Windows specific so he could not provide the details I needed.

So I think I am very stuck at this point.

arch2b
2012.05.13, 11:10 AM
That is very unfortunate but understandable on your end. I wish trp would be more cooperative as giro-z is a very common system for sponsored events thus many have it and or transponders.

The program was behaving very oddly in that it would announce rank changes when no one was at the finish line. It would not report lap times accurately in that it would count the lap but the lap times are not correct.
I did not see this issue at home on win7 or I was not able to run simulations close enough to actual race conditions. Winxp however was sketchy right out of the gate.

One particular thing is on occasion, randomly, the tone for a driver crossing the line would sound double tones vs a single tone. It was not adding multiple laps as far as I could tell but one of many odd things that were happening.

Again, I'm sorry you are not getting the cooperation needed to accommodate giro-z. I certainly understand the issue and will continue to support flip side even if we can't run it.

pinwc4
2012.05.13, 12:20 PM
That is very unfortunate but understandable on your end. I wish trp would be more cooperative as giro-z is a very common system for sponsored events thus many have it and or transponders.

The program was behaving very oddly in that it would announce rank changes when no one was at the finish line. It would not report lap times accurately in that it would count the lap but the lap times are not correct.
I did not see this issue at home on win7 or I was not able to run simulations close enough to actual race conditions. Winxp however was sketchy right out of the gate.

One particular thing is on occasion, randomly, the tone for a driver crossing the line would sound double tones vs a single tone. It was not adding multiple laps as far as I could tell but one of many odd things that were happening.

Again, I'm sorry you are not getting the cooperation needed to accommodate giro-z. I certainly understand the issue and will continue to support flip side even if we can't run it.

Hmm, this does not seem like it would be a Giro-Z only issue, maybe something else is going on. With the Giro-Z I have to do a lot more processing of the communication from the lap counter which leads to much higher cpu usage. There is probably some trick to decoding the data that I do not know so I had to just make a brute force method to decode it that requires a lot of processing. Maybe that is why you did not see this issue on the other computer. Just speculation though but what your are describing is strange behavior.

arch2b
2012.05.13, 01:00 PM
yes, big difference between our track computer and my laptop. track computer is an old optiplex sx270 ultra small form factor, winxp pro system. i have a newer model optplex gx620, winxp pro system i just fixed that i hope to move over to our track location. this one also support dual monitors as well which i plan to use. my laptop is 1+ years old win7 home premium.

let me know if there are any files you would like to have sent to you. it would take some time but can be done if needed.