PDA

View Full Version : AWD Race

DMALMAD
2012.08.20, 08:29 PM
Hey I have an AWD with a plethora of upgrade parts, pretty much everything is either pn or Atomic on it, and I was wondering if anybody uses AWD's to race. I have read a lot of on how to make your 03 a viable racer. But it doesn't seem like that many people race the AWD. Correct me if I am wrong, but it seems the majority of racers use the 03.
I know that people still use the AWD to drift and people hop them up just as they would any other car but why is it that the AWD isn't the preffered racing vehicle? Because to me I have the 02, 03 and AWD all 2.4ghz, and the AWD seems to hanndle better. The 03 and 02 both have pn motor mounts, bearings, springs, disc dampers, ball diffs, and so does the AWD.
I know I went a bit off topic but to sum it up I understand that the 03 is preffered over the AWD but why?
P.S. I am new so if anything I said is incorrect please point it out as I am still learning.

Bodom
2012.08.21, 07:14 AM
To me MA-010 suffers from high center of gravity and high weight. Add the heavy 4wd transmission and the elephant is there :D
The fact is that I am trying to prove myself from some time, that MA-010 is race-worthy. But every time my MR-03 handles better and is faster on the track than my MA-010.

imxlr8ed
2012.08.21, 09:44 AM
Majority of racers on here are on RCP and that seems to take the edge away from AWDs. Now if it was a race on carpet or Ozite, I would think the AWDs would have an advantage (and definitely on a hardwood floor!).

But, as with any AWD there is more maintenance and parts to buy. With the 2WDs, I just seem to get more bang for the buck.

d1nzfe
2012.08.21, 10:28 AM
I raced my AWD in the recent http://www.miniz.ws/
Our Track is RCP and it got podium in the 1st event. ;)
Yes, its a bitch to setup at 1st, but once you got it, it puts down the power really well where the 2wd cannot cope,especially with mod motors.