PDA

View Full Version : The good from the ugly... my F1 setup.

imxlr8ed
2012.11.21, 02:05 AM
I think I've finally figured out my F1s!
I've spent years with these cars but kinda always followed the herd when it came to what to get, what these cars need, which parts are must haves... you know, all good advice but I could never seem to get these things to turn the laps with the same feel as my regular race cars had. So, with a lack of funds to buy the latest and greatest, I started playing around once again and here's what I ended up with:

Here's my Honda, and yes the Mantis front wing is a must-have in my book:
http://mini-zracer.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=88&pictureid=1476

Here it is with the lid off, notice the typical direct wire scenario to the board. I never used to do this to all my cars, but with the 2.4 there is really no need to have to shut it down right after a race to avoid runaways like with the AM cars:
http://mini-zracer.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=88&pictureid=1477

On the underside, I'm running Kyosho side plates to a PN mount, 64 pitch diff, stainless kingpins, K30 fronts and half-worn PN6 rears, front gear is all zero degree:
http://mini-zracer.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=88&pictureid=1479

Now here's where it gets cheap and disgusting. I used to run a top shock and yellow side springs on this car but I tossed them because they never seemed to really help me out. The metal bar that comes off the back of where the board mounts is gone too. I replace all of mine with a section of motor wire cut to the proper length. I also pop a screw into the shock mount with a washer on it in the hopes that it will help keep the rear from going totally whacked out if I get in a collision:
http://mini-zracer.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=88&pictureid=1480