PDA

View Full Version : PN printed "dsm2" board for mini-z


cowboysir
2014.03.08, 11:57 AM
Hey everyone,

I'd like to get a sense of those members who've had success using this board.

I recently purchased this board to get a neighbor of mine into mini-z. He has a DX2S which says it is DSM2 compatible and I plan on purchasing a DX3E (also DSM2 compatible) to keep the car as a loaner when not being used by my neighbor.

1. firstly, it arrived with no servo pot and motor assuming i had the neeeded skills and materials to swap these parts in. Luckily I did (since i am a Z hoarder:D) and was able to configure the items for MR03 operation. Had I not had these items I would be very upset if I purchased a $100usd board and had to then buy seperate items once I found out the board was not ready to install.

2. For the life of me I have not been able to get the bind procedure to complete. I have followed the Spectrum specific bind procedure (I've had Spectrum for larger scale for at least 8 years now so its not my first rodeo) and have not been successful at getting the bind link.


My question for other members:

1. Did anyone else get a raedy to install item or was their purchase requiring elements of self install?
2. What radio are they using in the DSM2 lineup?
3. Did they get a successful bind?

My worry at this point is the "DSM2 compatible" radios are not along the same lines as higher spec radios that are specific DSM2 and Ive wasted $100 on a project that will not reach completion.

lfisminiz
2014.03.08, 01:24 PM
Hey everyone,

I'd like to get a sense of those members who've had success using this board.

I recently purchased this board to get a neighbor of mine into mini-z. He has a DX2S which says it is DSM2 compatible and I plan on purchasing a DX3E (also DSM2 compatible) to keep the car as a loaner when not being used by my neighbor.

1. firstly, it arrived with no servo pot and motor assuming i had the neeeded skills and materials to swap these parts in. Luckily I did (since i am a Z hoarder:D) and was able to configure the items for MR03 operation. Had I not had these items I would be very upset if I purchased a $100usd board and had to then buy seperate items once I found out the board was not ready to install.

2. For the life of me I have not been able to get the bind procedure to complete. I have followed the Spectrum specific bind procedure (I've had Spectrum for larger scale for at least 8 years now so its not my first rodeo) and have not been successful at getting the bind link.


My question for other members:

1. Did anyone else get a raedy to install item or was their purchase requiring elements of self install?
2. What radio are they using in the DSM2 lineup?
3. Did they get a successful bind?

My worry at this point is the "DSM2 compatible" radios are not along the same lines as higher spec radios that are specific DSM2 and Ive wasted $100 on a project that will not reach completion.

Hi,
1. just got the board. I just swapped the K.O board out of car and put the Spektrum in.
2. I got the DX4S
3. If i remember right....
Put batteries in. (car)
Turn power on. (car)
Turn radio on.
Go to bind mode in radio. Start bind proceedure.
Shortly radio and car light should be solid and ready to go.
I know it took me a couple trys and help to i fugured it out. Hope this helps.

miniznewb
2014.03.08, 02:09 PM
I had also just swapped my board into a running ko car so I had all the parts needed.
I did have trouble binding it. I sent it to kenon the got it all fixed up bbc o charge and sent it back to me no charge

DanDan
2014.03.09, 03:55 AM
My worry at this point is the "DSM2 compatible" radios are not along the same lines as higher spec radios that are specific DSM2 and Ive wasted $100 on a project that will not reach completion.

:confused: I don't understand your statement, the syntax seems invalid. I have two replies for you, hopefully one will be an appropriate response.

The DSMR radios like the DX4S/R are backwards compatible to both DSM and DSM2. I use a SR300 (original DSM) receiver with my DX4S with no problems whatsoever.

I find my DX4S to be just as programmable as any KO Radio I've owned. The UI also matches the KO in ease of use IMO...but I feel that is a subjective topic, depending on user preference some may like the KO UI over Spektrum and vice versa. Feel in the hands is also a subjective topic, but I like how my DX4S is much lighter and less bulky than the EX-10

I got to try out a Spektrum equipped Mini-Z this week. One of the people who uses the track at my store was kind enough to let me drive his car for a few minutes. The response was very smooth (more so than my ASF equipped car) on both steering and throttle.

Hint: If you have issues with the transponder, wire it directly to the battery terminals. Problem solved :cool:

art4242
2014.03.10, 01:57 AM
:confused: I don't understand your statement, the syntax seems invalid. I have two replies for you, hopefully one will be an appropriate response.

The DSMR radios like the DX4S/R are backwards compatible to both DSM and DSM2. I use a SR300 (original DSM) receiver with my DX4S with no problems whatsoever.

I find my DX4S to be just as programmable as any KO Radio I've owned. The UI also matches the KO in ease of use IMO...but I feel that is a subjective topic, depending on user preference some may like the KO UI over Spektrum and vice versa. Feel in the hands is also a subjective topic, but I like how my DX4S is much lighter and less bulky than the EX-10

I got to try out a Spektrum equipped Mini-Z this week. One of the people who uses the track at my store was kind enough to let me drive his car for a few minutes. The response was very smooth (more so than my ASF equipped car) on both steering and throttle.

Hint: If you have issues with the transponder, wire it directly to the battery terminals. Problem solved :cool:

Actually it was my PN Spektrum car that Dan drove. Dan - thank you for checking my car out, as well as for all of the other setup tips and advice getting me started.

It was humbling to watch as immediately within the first few laps he knocked more than a few tenths off my fastest lap time, but as least I know that my car is ok and itís just the driver that needs practice.:o

In response to the original questions:
1. I knew that no servo motor or pot was included with the board before I purchased, it is pictured this way on the Kenon web site image. I think that not including a pot and servo motor may have also been mentioned in one of the other posts by PN.
2. I am using a DX3C.
3. I was able to bind successfully after several tries. It was somewhat finicky, I think there was sensitivity to the timing between the moment I turned the car on and the moment I hit the bind button on the transmitter.

As for other tips - before installing the board I replaced the battery and antenna wires with thicker gage ones, the ones supplied seemed very thin. I also had some transponder issues running plugged into the ICS port, at one track it was fine but at another it would work only for a few minutes with a freshly charged set of batteries. This was with an I-lap transponder. Wiring the transponder directly to the battery fixed this.

I for one am glad that PN developed this board. I bought my first MR-03 literally a week or two before the PN Spektrum board came out. As I did not want to go full out on a higher end KO transmitter before I knew what I was getting into, I started off with a basic KT-18 transmitter. When I decided to upgrade, instead of being forced to go for a higher end KO radio that was only usable mainly with Mini-Zís, for about the same price I bought the PN board plus a $99 DX3C (which has a great feature set for the price). The best thing is that I can use the DX3C with my other Losi Spektrum cars as well.

tudor_47
2014.03.10, 04:20 AM
U need to put the ESC/Receiver board into bind mode by pressing the button on it at powerup, then you start the radio and select bind, this should bind your receiver to the radio. Mine worked at first try. Running A DX3R radio.

cowboysir
2014.03.10, 03:52 PM
Hey everyone,

.

2. For the life of me I have not been able to get the bind procedure to complete. I have followed the Spectrum specific bind procedure (I've had Spectrum for larger scale for at least 8 years now so its not my first rodeo) and have not been successful at getting the bind link.



My worry at this point is the "DSM2 compatible" radios are not along the same lines as higher spec radios that are specific DSM2 and Ive wasted $100 on a project that will not reach completion.

I have been able to have an email conversation with philip and we are in a warranty replacement stage...

My thanks to Tudor for telling me something I have been aware of for quite a while...like i said it's not my first Spectrum use.

As for DanDan, you were able to pinpoint my question exactly.

Spectrum has 2 types of DSM2 radios. The higher models are whats called DSMR which apparently is DSM2 specific and can bind DSM Rx's. The lower models are DSM sport which states in the literature as "compatible with dsm, dsm2 and marine Rx's". My question was does the PN printed board require DSMR radios or are they compatible with all dsm2 functioning radios...

I received word via email from Philip that any dsm2 radio should bind with the PN printed board.

Thanks again for those who've chimed in on their PN board usage....it seems like I've had the same issue as miniznewb and the problem will get rectified.

lfisminiz
2014.03.10, 07:21 PM
Good to hear. Philip (PN) will take care of it. I ran with miniznewb Sunday and all was good.

cowboysir
2014.03.25, 07:06 PM
I thought I'd chime back in with an update:

1. I have to thanks Philip and the PN/Kenon crew for a quick turnaround on the check and upgrade of wiring to the DSM2 board i mailed back for confirmation of the bind issues!

2. I must at this point confess that I was missing the final step on my buddy's DX2s radio and when i thought i was on the bind page I actually needed to scroll one last time to highlight "BIND" then press the scroll bar.

That admission over with (and suitably chastised for being an idiot:o) I am happy to report that the DSM2 MR03 will get finished being built tonight!

PNracing
2014.04.02, 01:21 PM
The Android ICS apps download link
http://pnracing.us/download/PN-ICS-Android-V1.0.apk

TheSteve
2014.04.02, 01:48 PM
Will you also be posting it to the Play Store?

briankstan
2014.04.02, 02:24 PM
is the PN App only for the PN boards? Does it work with the ASF boards as well?

briankstan
2014.04.02, 03:02 PM
got the answer from PN f******k post, this app is only for the PN printed boards.

PNracing
2014.04.02, 03:58 PM
the apps only for PN board with Bluetooth adapter.

Google Store link https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.pnracing.ics

mini-cam
2015.01.21, 08:32 PM
I recently aquired a PN DSM2 board and love that I can use my spektrum radio with it. The only problem I am having is adjusting enough brake into the unit. I have the brakes up to 100 on the radio and full 85 on the ICS adjustment. Even the drag brake is at full. Running a 50t PN motor it is a rocket but trying to get it slowed back down for the 180 corners usually ends up in a push after after a high speed section.

Is there another step for the esc to learn what full throttle and full brake is??? I can only find info on how to bind the Board and Radio but setting endpoints it just seems to learn on it's own??

art4242
2015.01.23, 04:20 PM
I recently aquired a PN DSM2 board and love that I can use my spektrum radio with it. The only problem I am having is adjusting enough brake into the unit. I have the brakes up to 100 on the radio and full 85 on the ICS adjustment. Even the drag brake is at full. Running a 50t PN motor it is a rocket but trying to get it slowed back down for the 180 corners usually ends up in a push after after a high speed section.

Is there another step for the esc to learn what full throttle and full brake is??? I can only find info on how to bind the Board and Radio but setting endpoints it just seems to learn on it's own??

I don't think there are any endpoint adjustments on the board itself, you have to adjust the transmitter to match the board. I have 5 cars with PN DSM2 boards in them, all work fine. I generally don't set the reverse endpoint on radio, but for the forward endpoint all of the boards I have tend to be around 105-115% to achieve max throttle. This is with DX3C/DX4C/DX4R transmitters. I think the reverse endpoint should be similar.

I also run a 50t (bushing) PN motor and have no problem slowing down. The motor by itself has a fair amount of drag. Have you tried playing around the ICS V. Inertia and Drag brake settings to see if they are actually doing something? The effect should be very noticeable. I generally run with a slight drag brake (-1 setting in the ICS), and almost never need to brake. Higher drag brake settings (-3 or higher) make the car stop too quickly for me.

Does the car actually brake when you apply brake from the transmitter? Maybe there is a throttle curve/expo/ABS or some other transmitter setting that needs adjustment? Which Spektrum transmitter are you using?

mini-cam
2015.01.24, 02:45 PM
I don't think there are any endpoint adjustments on the board itself, you have to adjust the transmitter to match the board. I have 5 cars with PN DSM2 boards in them, all work fine. I generally don't set the reverse endpoint on radio, but for the forward endpoint all of the boards I have tend to be around 105-115% to achieve max throttle. This is with DX3C/DX4C/DX4R transmitters. I think the reverse endpoint should be similar.

I also run a 50t (bushing) PN motor and have no problem slowing down. The motor by itself has a fair amount of drag. Have you tried playing around the ICS V. Inertia and Drag brake settings to see if they are actually doing something? The effect should be very noticeable. I generally run with a slight drag brake (-1 setting in the ICS), and almost never need to brake. Higher drag brake settings (-3 or higher) make the car stop too quickly for me.

Does the car actually brake when you apply brake from the transmitter? Maybe there is a throttle curve/expo/ABS or some other transmitter setting that needs adjustment? Which Spektrum transmitter are you using?

Thanks for the help, I could not find anything on-line about radio set-up. Bought this used and searched for instructions but not much I could find. I set the radio end points to 100 and after binding it seemed strange that I did not need to set the ESC to the radio like the 1/10 scale ESC's. The ICS setting full brake I still was only getting a soft coasting brake. I'm am using a DX3rPro and all the fancy ABS and other stuff is turned off on it. After reading your post I did try turning the end points up and can hear the motor RPM increase drastically over the 100 end point setting. Seems about 140 brake and 115 throttle was about where the motor topped out. The extra 40 percent brakes side sounds more like what I was needing. We run on a smaller track and our last layout had a 180 at the end of the straight. 2/3 down the straight I would have to go full brake to get it to slow down to make the turn. Improving my set-up and tire combo I am sure will help the high speed 180's too. Can't wait for the next club racing now!!!

Over all feel is so much smoother than the the standard stuff. Really like running the car now with this board / radio combo. Driving the track is like cutting soft butter now instead of a brick pulled out of the freezer. LOL

mini-cam
2015.02.03, 04:34 PM
Hey guys,

Another issue I seem to not be able to conquer. Steering servo can not be adjusted to full lock. Bind the board and radio at 100% settings and after about 125% the servo will not drive any further. Still about another 1/8 to go each way before the end of the rack hits the stops. Adjusting up to 140% and the same result with the only difference being the servo stops before the wheel is full lock. If you push the wheels with your finger to get full lock then the servo will move it back to 1/8 from full lock. With the car off the servo turns fee full lock to full lock. Replaced servo gears and front end parts to make an almost slop free steering with the same results. Does not seem to matter witch to bock I use. Cleaned the steering pot with electric cleaner.... kind of out of idea's to get a full lock adjustment.

*Using a DX3r Pro radio*

yasuji
2015.02.03, 11:44 PM
Hey guys,

Another issue I seem to not be able to conquer. Steering servo can not be adjusted to full lock. Bind the board and radio at 100% settings and after about 125% the servo will not drive any further. Still about another 1/8 to go each way before the end of the rack hits the stops. Adjusting up to 140% and the same result with the only difference being the servo stops before the wheel is full lock. If you push the wheels with your finger to get full lock then the servo will move it back to 1/8 from full lock. With the car off the servo turns fee full lock to full lock. Replaced servo gears and front end parts to make an almost slop free steering with the same results. Does not seem to matter witch to bock I use. Cleaned the steering pot with electric cleaner.... kind of out of idea's to get a full lock adjustment.

*Using a DX3r Pro radio*

What chassis is this on?

mini-cam
2015.02.04, 02:23 AM
What chassis is this on?

mr03 chassis

yasuji
2015.02.04, 11:54 AM
mr03 chassis

Is ur s/r @100 as well?

mini-cam
2015.02.04, 02:57 PM
Is ur s/r @100 as well?

YES, set to 100 also when pairing. Even went into the radio menu to turn off SR and still same results.

yasuji
2015.02.05, 12:50 AM
YES, set to 100 also when pairing. Even went into the radio menu to turn off SR and still same results.

I think we have a 3r @ the shop... I will test it tomorrow

mini-cam
2015.02.06, 04:22 AM
I think we have a 3r @ the shop... I will test it tomorrow

Any luck? My last attempted at fixing the issue will be to replace the potentiometer.