PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and First Questions

Brock
2014.05.28, 01:34 PM
Good afternoon, Racers. I am new to the hobby. Thank you to the guys I met at the Fairfax, VA Hobby Works.

I told some friends that I was getting into Mini Z hobbying, and the father of a friend pulled out a box of MR-02 cars that he had sitting in storage for a few years. He let me borrow one to learn how to control the car and I have had a blast. I have been to many sites trying to consume as much info as possible. I am planning to invest in my first car in a couple of weeks and I am stuck between the MR-03 and the MA-10. I like the AWD, but I was told that the AWD cars require a bit more tuning. Are there any sites or resources that go into depth about the Mini Z anatomy and tuning? (...besides the obvious places like YouTube or the top Google results.) Are there any good RC magazines that cover Mini Z?

mleemor60
2014.05.28, 02:16 PM
Welcome to the forum. The Fairfax group is top notch and will be very helpful to you as you progress.

As far as a site for knowledge, you have landed square in the middle of it. Anything that you want or need to know can be found right here so don't hesitate for a second to throw out a question.

From a chassis preference standpoint you will find that the AWD chassis is no longer the platform of choice for competing. The advent of RCP(track) has relegated it to the duty of what I call shoveling snow(drifting). If you land in an area that competes on carpet then the AWD is still quite competitive but a bit tedious to sort out as you have already noted. In today's market the MR-03 is the competitive mainstay for any racing surface followed by the older but still race worthy MR-02.

Just go through the index here and search for general information so you can get a feel for the terminology. Some information is dated but still pretty useful.