PDA

View Full Version : Zround useable with Windows 8 ?


HoJo
2014.11.07, 08:46 AM
Hi

I am trying to use Zround on a laptop using Windows 8. When I try to connect my AMBRC decoder via LAN cable, i get the message
'Asynchronous Socket Error 10051". Further, when I try to ping the decoder using the command line, I get a "General Transmit Failure" message.

Will you be able assist ?

zround
2014.11.07, 12:47 PM
Hi

I am trying to use Zround on a laptop using Windows 8. When I try to connect my AMBRC decoder via LAN cable, i get the message
'Asynchronous Socket Error 10051". Further, when I try to ping the decoder using the command line, I get a "General Transmit Failure" message.

Will you be able assist ?

Yes, ZRound works on Win8. In fact I use a Win8.1Pro/64 up to date.

An issue was reported last week by a user with a misconfigured AMBRc decoder that reported via PS3 protocol an static ip address "0.0.0.0" but it had a valid IP active. I have a patch for this, discarding the static IP info and recovering the active one. But if it were the case, you could ping flawlessly from a command prompt.

If you get a "General Transmit Failure" is because something on your windows network layer is failing. You need a network crossed cable for a direct link with the decoder. Otherwise (if there isn't any other network link up) you will receive such kind of errors.

If you have a regular network cable then try to use a hub/swich to connect both sides. Remember to enable DHCP on the AMBRc decoder if there isn't any other DHCP server on your network (i.e. router) or set the static IP address on both equipments on the same subnet (example: AMB=192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0; PC=192.168.1.2/255.255.255.0) if you don't have a DCHP service on the network segment.

Let me know if you get it working. Regards.

HoJo
2014.11.09, 08:26 PM
Yes, ZRound works on Win8. In fact I use a Win8.1Pro/64 up to date.

An issue was reported last week by a user with a misconfigured AMBRc decoder that reported via PS3 protocol an static ip address "0.0.0.0" but it had a valid IP active. I have a patch for this, discarding the static IP info and recovering the active one. But if it were the case, you could ping flawlessly from a command prompt.

If you get a "General Transmit Failure" is because something on your windows network layer is failing. You need a network crossed cable for a direct link with the decoder. Otherwise (if there isn't any other network link up) you will receive such kind of errors.

If you have a regular network cable then try to use a hub/swich to connect both sides. Remember to enable DHCP on the AMBRc decoder if there isn't any other DHCP server on your network (i.e. router) or set the static IP address on both equipments on the same subnet (example: AMB=192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0; PC=192.168.1.2/255.255.255.0) if you don't have a DCHP service on the network segment.

Let me know if you get it working. Regards.

Hi

Thanks for your tips. After fiddling around with it, I managed to get it working and ran a race with it yesterday.

Thanks once again. Cheers

zround
2014.11.10, 06:59 AM
Hi

Thanks for your tips. After fiddling around with it, I managed to get it working and ran a race with it yesterday.

Thanks once again. Cheers
Excellent, thanks for your feedback.