PDA

View Full Version : Total beginner's first order

DavidR
2015.11.18, 07:23 AM
Hi All,

So I'm a total beginner looking to place my first order and want to make sure I do it right. For now, I'm just after a car, controller, NiMHs, a charger and whatever else I need to make this experience an enjoyable one. I won't be racing, just noodling about in the house (tiles) and garage (concrete).

So here are my questions:

1. Which chassis? I'm only interested in readily available new cars that are easily sourced on the internet so I guess I'm looking at MR03 Sports or MA020 Sports.
2. How many sets of NiMHs? Is four sets enough? Too much?
3. What else should I include in my first order? Tyres? If so, what and how many? Anything else?
4. Since I'm confined to the house/garage (for the purposes of the hobby I mean - I'm not wearing a tag or anything), should I be thinking drift over race? I'm easy as long as I'm having fun.

Thanks in advance.

DMALMAD
2015.11.18, 07:39 AM
Powerex chargers are good but may more than neccesary so I would say that any charger that charges at between .8-1.2A should be good. I would agree that 4 sets of batteries would be perfect to start. Also I think that the most enjoyable platform for a beginner would be the mr-03 sports chassis. As for tires the best ones out there are the PN Racing KS compound tires (SS rear and firm front). You may also want a couple sets of extra rims in case the stock ones break when you are driving around at home.

Thorvald
2015.11.18, 08:52 AM
As a fellow who is in the midst of this myself, I can easily give advice after my recent learning curve... lol (in addition to the advice above).

1. House only? Plan to play with friends one day for driveway/basement races with a beer? MR-03S hands down. (Sports).

Don't forget there is a NEW MR-03S Sports Chassis set out now, it supports the optional Gyro board. So if you are not fussy on the body, grab one of the newer ones to be safe.