PDA

View Full Version : No Braking Power with PN DSM2 Board


Flo-Z
2015.12.07, 06:58 AM
Hello everybody,

I noticed that I have no braking power with the PN DSM2 Board. Even if I put the brakes to the maximum of 85 % in ICS manager, the braking power is nearly Zero. The transmitter is also set to 100%.
Is there a way with which I can get more braking power, or does it only work with the ASF board ?

Ty
Flo

yasuji
2015.12.07, 10:28 AM
Hello everybody,

I noticed that I have no braking power with the PN DSM2 Board. Even if I put the brakes to the maximum of 85 % in ICS manager, the braking power is nearly Zero. The transmitter is also set to 100%.
Is there a way with which I can get more braking power, or does it only work with the ASF board ?

Ty
Flo
This is strange..what radio do u use? . Does the reverse work without and issues? Is it the v1 or v2 board? Normally I run my break power in the ics @ 60% and 100%hp on the radio then set my break d/r to 75-80 I am using the v2 board with dx4s

Flo-Z
2015.12.07, 11:08 AM
I also use the Dx4s. When I put the braking power in the ICS from 0% to 85%, I notice a very small difference. I would appreciate the braking performance on 5%. The reverse gear is absolutely no problem. (backing Time 1). How can I see if I have V1 or V2?

Ty
Flo

yasuji
2015.12.08, 12:44 AM
I also use the Dx4s. When I put the braking power in the ICS from 0% to 85%, I notice a very small difference. I would appreciate the braking performance on 5%. The reverse gear is absolutely no problem. (backing Time 1). How can I see if I have V1 or V2?

Ty
Flo
The v1 has the very small solder pads for the main Power and the v2 has the bigger pads....

Flo-Z
2015.12.08, 08:54 AM
First, thank you for helping me.

It's definitely a V2 board. Today I have also tested an atomic 48t engine next to the PN50. As before, no brake. And that in all three boards. You wrote that your radio has 100% HP. What means HP?

Ty
Flo

yasuji
2015.12.08, 09:03 AM
First, thank you for helping me.

It's definitely a V2 board. Today I have also tested an atomic 48t engine next to the PN50. As before, no brake. And that in all three boards. You wrote that your radio has 100% HP. What means HP?

Ty
Flo

In the menu throttle travel Rev is @ 100

Flo-Z
2015.12.08, 09:28 AM
Ah okay, I tested nearly the whole Range.
Could you descripe how Strong your breakpower is?

Unfortunately I can not test on RCP at the moment. If I turn the car, so no load on the engine and then brake, the wheels would stop immediately, right?

Sorry for my english :-)

Flo-Z
2015.12.25, 08:31 AM
Back from Testing on RCP...

The newly installed board (V2) now finally have a brake. However, the braking power is weaker than the ASF. But it is sufficient.

One Last question I have: Me and others noticed that the battery life with the PN board is shorter. is it true that the Pn Board requires more power?

Thank you very much.
Flo

Jshwaa
2015.12.25, 12:02 PM
Is there a way with which I can get more braking power, or does it only work with the ASF board ?

The 'brake power' is a function of the motor's magnets and armature turns to a large extent, however it is interesting that you are noticing a difference from one board to the next.

When an RC car (ie mini-z, xmods, et al) put on the 'brakes', the FET's are essentially shorting the motor wires together through either the VCC or ground power rails. This puts the motor into a loaded generator mode that creates a torque load on the drive train, slowing the car down.

If you are noticing a decrease in brake power with this new board, it is quite possible that it is modulating the short to the motor wires, and instead of a short at 100% duty cycle, it is shorting at a decreased duty cycle which will net a decrease in the torque load the motor is imposing on the drive train.

If this is the case, and there is no way to increase the duty cycle of the brake mode PWM, then you will need to use a motor with stronger magnets and/or motor turns to get the braking power you need.