PDA

View Full Version : Mr-03S2?

zuggzugg
2015.12.17, 10:56 PM
Hi guys! I'm just getting into the hobby and am very interested in getting myself a mini-z! I picked up a Losi SCTE as my first micro and found a 2nd hand RCP Track all this week! After reading up on the mini-z I have a question. Has anyone had any experience with the new MR-03S2 (Sport 2) cars that have come out? I read that the Sport series isn't that well received due to the different electronics, having to reset it, etc.

In the description of the Sport 2 models it specifically mentions upgraded electronics. I had a nice talk with the guy I bought the RCP track from yesterday. He shared what he knew about the Sport series as well as the experience of the club he was in. Told me about having to reset it and the process for that and just the other quirks with it. Special tx and such. He did not recommend the first gen sport but had no knowledge of the new generation version 2.

It's just by chance that the car I like the most happens to be of this model. I know that I can get the body separate but I'm not looking to spend a ton on the car all once(famous last words). Upgrades, Decent radio, etc.

This is the car I like. The body and price.
http://www kenonhobby com/Kyosho-Mini-Z-MR03S2-MINI-Z-McLaren-12C-GT3-2013-Ready-Set-Matte-Black_p_45713.html

I did see that they have the 50th anniversary edition with some of the standard base upgrades that seem to be the most common as well as the inclusion of the gyro. I am worried about the car being brushless though as I'm just going to be playing with it in the apartment and at work. I read that brushless is almost "too fast" so I wonder if that would be wasted on that car or if the amount of upgrades it has is still worth it over all? I did buy a wide L and wide oval from him so I have tons of track and I could potentially set it up at work. Overall I don't see tons of straight track in my future.